We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The original private game reserve in Sabi Sabi !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MalaMala Sable Camp
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The original private game reserve in Sabi Sabi !!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Is the place where all began....now their 3 lodges give a taste of the past and the new Rattrays lodge gives the luxury unbeatable experience.
The drives are held with the traditional Range Rovers, and is a smooth way to go all around the bush.
Rangers are profesional, and you have a high level of posibilites to see the big five, and sure the beautifull leopards. Good option around Sabi Sand. Don´t miss it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williecarballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We visited Mala Mala for 3 days after visiting Cape Town for six nights during our Honeymoon. I don't even know where to begin. The service was impeccable and our guide, Adam, was informative and supremely knowledgeable. The two game drives per day were outstanding complete with cocktails served at sunset in the bush!

Set on 44,000 acres we saw the big five (Lion, Leopard, Water Buffalo, Rhino, and Elephant) every day! This was an unforgettable experience and I would recommend it to anyone visiting South Africa.

Room Tip: Sable Camp (at the end of Main Camp) are excellent suites and more private and exclusive than the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at a few game reserves on this trip. Mala Mala was the least "wild" of the bunch. It was more of a luxury place with more of a hotel feel. The guides were informative, the food was quite different from the normal fare at home and since we quite enjoy experiencing new and different cultures, this was right up out alley. Flying around in small aircraft in Africa is always a bit scary, but when in Rome...
Of the reserves we tried, this is the one I would recommend to families with older children, as you will not feel too exposed to the outdoors. We saw many if not all of the big five, and it was a great first time safari. If you want to be immersed a bit more into the wild of Africa, there are other reserves that will fit the bill, but if you don't want to be in a luxury tent, this is great. Have fun and enjoy yourself and don't forget to take photos of yourself in Africa, as we arrived home with 700 photos of animals and 2 of us!
I recommend mixing up a few reserves, so you can get a feel of the wild side of Africa. It was a wonderful trip and I will never forget it!
We were sleeping one night... we heard a loud sound above our bed- near the ceiling and then across the room. We turned on the lights, checked around, and noticed a large scorpion running across the floor- we realized it must have hit the ceiling fan and then it was thrown across the room. Lovely, but exciting. We called our safari guide, and upon examination and removal of the offending scorpion, we were told that a bite from this guy would put you in the hospital for a few days. Only in Africa. We enjoyed this trip and can't wait to take our daughter back again when she is older!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm Beach County
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Mala Mala is one of the private game camps in the Sabi Sands area bordering Krueger National Park. OUr guides were extremely attentive and went out of their way in search of the "Big Five". Every morning we had a wake up call by our ranger and then the hot berervage of choice was sent to our room. After brekfast &7 AM) we were on the road. We stopped in scenic area for tea, sundowerners and one moring sunrise wiht tea and scones. Our guides arranged to cook an entire brekfast in the Bush one morning to our delight. Mala Mala rangers are not afraid to go off road in persute of game, thi si the primary reason we selected this preserve. NIght time meals are served outdoors in a BOMA which is a bamboo structure. Our wonderful ZUlu villagers performed for us with their beautiful voices. Best 4 days of any vacation our family has ever had.

Room Tip: All rooms in Sable camp are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLhurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We LOVED MalaMala! The entire staff, property, service and safaris were exceptional. Although the decor in the rooms could use a little update, they were good size with a foyer, living room, 2 full baths and a deck overlooking the bush. We saw the Big 5 and then some every day. One big caveat worth mentioning, however: we went to another reserve afterward that was only 20-30 mins away, but since the Rattrays (who own MalaMala) won't let anyone drive on their land, we had to drive 3.5 HOURS all the way around to the neighboring property. Other than that, our stay at MalaMala was magical!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
11.1 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,718 reviews
15.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
19.3 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
314 reviews
37.1 km away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
451 reviews
3.3 km away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 104 in Hoedspruit
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MalaMala Sable Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MalaMala Sable Camp

Property: MalaMala Sable Camp
Address: Paul Kruger Gate Road, Kruger National Park 2116, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — MalaMala Sable Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MalaMala Game Reserve is the Safari Industry's blueprint to the luxury photographic safari. In existence since 1927, this massive thriving tract of land produces the most exciting wildlife experience this side of the equator. MalaMala Game Reserve is the largest private Big Five game reserve in South Africa. Comprising 13 300 ha (33 000 acres), MalaMala shares a 19 km (12 mile) unfenced border with the world-renowned Kruger National Park, and lies strategically sandwiched between the National Park and the Sabi Sand Reserve. For over four decades, Michael Rattray has remained focused on his objective to preserve and protect the land over which he is custodian. Allowing nature to move to its innate rhythm, guests experience today what the forefathers of the African Safari would have experienced at the turn of the century. This philosophy has paid off, as experienced by a veritable collection of photojournalists and film-makers who have made MalaMala their destination of choice to capture footage of wildlife viewing that would rival any Hollywood production for thrilling and breathtaking animal encounters. MalaMala's Camps (MalaMala Main Camp, Sable Camp and Rattray's on MalaMala) are the embodiment of an authentic safari experience pioneered at a time when the safari was simple - unassuming camps, vast sweeping plains, the African sky and the bush in all its splendour. Wellness was the feeling after a long day in the wild. Cigars were shared without pomp and ceremony. Guests to MalaMala will still spend hours beneath an inky sky in the traditional boma exchanging stories from the wild - a sumptuous meal, good company and relaxed faces warmed by the crackling fire, accompanied by the nocturnal symphony of sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your MalaMala Sable Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing