We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simbambili Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This was our third time to sabi sands having stayed twice at dulini and were slightly worried in advance over some of the reviews at simbambili but we should not have worried. Everything was perfect, the food was excellent, well presented and delicious! And so much on offer with great snacks as well as meals. Our room was fantastic, the service phenomenal - the staff so friendly and helpful. The game viewing as always was magnificent overall a fantastic experience. We would go back and we have to say that the price was much better value than others offered!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julesh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Community Manager at Simbambili Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi Julesh5, thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review! It's great to have feedback from guests who have been in the area before, and I'm really happy that we were able to put your mind at ease, given your worries before you arrived. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Simbambili Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Highlight - hard to pick one but I think the last morning safari while standing on a termite mound, surrounded by Impala, wilderbeast and koudo, watching the sky change through that stunning sunrise - no sounds of civilisation, not chasing a sighting - just nature and feeling it stretch out in all directions around me - Top of the World!

What an experience of a life time which I never wanted to end. Sounds corny but for us there was no negatives. But boy do the positives add up.

Cabin - roomy, plunge pool, day bed in the shade, sun beds you can move around. HUGE bed with mosquito nets - very romantic. Spacious bathroom. Beautifully appointed. Just don't leave your front door unlocked or the baboons might come by and visit. Food - the variety of food and the ways it is served means personal space and also social gatherings. The Chef was creative and a definite asset . Every meal was great in the variety, freshness and flavors. The baking was also amazing and hard to resist. Drinks - when they say local drinks were included I wasn't sure what that would mean but the wine served was delicious and from a stunning South African wine area near Cape Town. Dining area - beautifully presented, great view, comfortable and the fire was great place to relax with a drink post dinner for a chat. Small number of cabins therefore small number of guests and no children meant a quiet lodge which added to relaxing environment. Spa - Do yourself a favour and have a massage! Great way to relax during the day.

Staff - Being teamed up with a tracker, ranger and waiter (their terms) for the whole of your stay meant the opportunity to really get to know them and our team are awesome. Rodney - eyes of an eagle and a quiet smile but when he says 'get back in the truck' at the sound of a leopard calling close by, boy did we obey and the hunt was on. Jaben - knowledge shared as freely as his jokes and not just about the Big 5 animals but the small ones and the bush in general. Their genuine love the area and the animals shone through. Reinas - what a smile and genuine desire to make sure we were happy (above and beyond), could be relied upon to get you a drink (remembering what you liked) and ensure we enjoyed the stunning desserts. Befriended, pampered and spoilt is how I felt by these 3. Honestly all the staff were warm, friendly, helpful and ready for a chat but not intrusive.

Animals - Everywhere! We did 10 safari drives and every one was different and filled with stories I think about when I look at the silly number of photos I took. June, which is winter, is a great time to go. It is the dry season so apparently the reduced access to water means more animals go to the same places and thinner vegetation so easier to spot. Was amazing how use to the vehicles the animals are. This meant we were able to get close and yet most were not affected in any way, curious but definitely not distressed. We went not needing to see anything in particular and left haven fallen in love with the bush and having a special place in my heart for Impala!

Do yourself a favor, go relax, be spoilt and get excited about the animals and bush in this amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frog0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Everything about this place is excellent, if not perfect. The location is outstanding, and is something i consider extremely important. The rooms are also great, and provide a comfortable, wonderful stay whilst the food is of good quality and the staff is amazingly helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Our family had the privilege of staying in this wonderful game lodge for four nights a few weeks ago. My husband and I stayed here a few years ago and fell in love with the lodge, and yet it still managed to exceed our expectations! Everything was perfect! Firstly, the game viewing was excellent and within the first few hours of being there we had seen lion, leopard, hyena, elephant and rhino! And over the next few days there were many many more wonderful sightings. Secondly – the staff – they were all superbly knowledgeable about the bush, helpful – nothing was too much to ask – and great fun to spend time with – it was a pleasure getting to know them over the four days that we were there, particularly Ash, Glory (our butler) and our very experienced and humorous game ranger: Sipps. Thirdly the accommodation is world class – the rooms are beautiful with enormous decks from which you can often spot game and which all have their own plunge pools – absolute luxury. My favourite was having a long hot bath after dinner in the evening and looking at the stars. On top of everything the food was delicious – three meals every day with various menus and various settings – including a boma one night and a dinner in the bush on another night. This will always be my game lodge of choice in South Africa and I can highly recommend it to anyone visiting our beautiful country.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

My husband and I spent four days at Simbambili and loved every minute. We were in a beautiful, very comfortable cabin with a plunge pool on the deck overlooking a game trail. The food was very good. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. Best of all, the twice-daily game drives were amazing. Sipps (guide) and Service (tracker) were not only adept at locating animals, they were informative and great to spend time with. We will never forget our time there.

Room Tip: All individual cabins.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
10.3 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
422 reviews
8.0 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
12.2 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
842 reviews
22.0 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
503 reviews
17.6 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: €1,178 - €1,445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Simbambili Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge Sabi Sand Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing