We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean room, nice folks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper King Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper King Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean room, nice folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We were welcomed like old friends and treated with great care. We rented one of their efficiencies. Thank goodness we were warned that it was 'cozy.' The bathroom was about 12" from the side of the bed and there was room for only one nightstand. Not a big deal if you know it going in. We were there for some 'kick back lazy time," and it was fine. Lisa - at the front desk - was great about recommendations for restaurants and things to do. A herd of deer stroll by around 4:00pm. Nice and clean with helpful people. In room heat controls worked well and were much appreciated. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copperkinglodge, Owner at Copper King Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for your review, Melody. We certainly appreciate your business. The unit you were in, our efficiency unit, is our smallest and most economical unit. As you mentioned, we tell everyone this when they book their stay with us. It is almost always perfect for 2 people. Just a quick side note.....the bed is actually right at 2 feet from the bathroom.

We would also like for our prospective guests to know that for only $10-15 more per night (depending on the season), you can get a much larger "motel type unit." We also have 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units with full kitchens and living areas. We hope to have a room type for everyone, regardless of your group size or budget!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Copper King Lodge. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
125
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very helpful service. I will stay there again. They knew the area and helped me find the best deals in town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandersfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We never cease to be amazed by this place. The owners continue to make improvements/upgrades year after year. Two of our three grandchildren have learned to snow ski right outside our unit and they fish in the river during the warmer months. They feed the deer, ducks, and raccoons by hand and pull trout from the river for us to grill.

If you ever stay here one time - you will be hooked. Great facilities, great location, and wonderful owners/staff.

The Rossers

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is a number 1 for lodging inRed River. Very Clean Cabins. Our experience here was excellemt, all the way from management, front desk secretaries, to the housekeeping staff. Great family atmospher. Cabins with full kitchens are equipted with everything you need. If it is not in your cabin, just ask for it. They probablly have whatever you need at the office. Would recomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erath, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

A famous song begins "There's no place like home for the holidays"....well, we found home in Copper King Lodge, New Mexico.
We have visited Red River on many occasions, but this was our first time to stay at Copper King Lodge. We traveled during the summer time looking for an ideal place for our party of 3 adult children, their spouses, 11 grandchildren, 1 great grandmother, and 4 dear friends. As we explored our many options, Cooper King was our last visit on that summer day. We were greeted by the owners and staff members with courtesy and efficiency, as they tried to fulfill our request. We came to the conclusion that this would be the ideal place to have a "White Christmas." Upon our return in December, the rooms were clean and stocked with the tools we needed to feed the troops, a well equipped kitchen. If something was missing, all we had to do was ask the staff members. A barbeque pit outside the rooms allowed for an evening of snow burgers and hotdogs. The shops, the grocery store, restaurants, the slopes, and the park were all within walking distance. There were plenty of things to occupy our party of 24. One could walk or ride the shuttle to the slopes. Just outside our doors or over the bridge of the river, one could sled or just sit on the swings and feed the deer and ducks.
We would like to extend thanks to Ms. Nora and Mr. Marvin. The housekeeping staff was able to meet all of our needs and made us feel at home. The owners were available for any questions we might have and Ms. Donna was quick to respond to our inquiries.
Cooper King Lodge provided us with an excellent experience. For us, "I'm dreaming of a White Christmas" is no longer a song, but a beautiful memory.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 18, they children called it the Penthouse because the view from the 2nd floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.7 km away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
37.3 km away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
12.9 km away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
36.8 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Lodge

Property: Copper King Lodge
Address: 307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper King Lodge is your mountain home for skiing and winter fun, summer vacations, and spring/fall get-a-ways. We are on the river in the heart of town next to the Copper Chair Lift. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing