We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copper King Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Red River
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ryland(Red River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ponderosa Lodge(Red River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Arrowhead Lodge(Red River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Alpine Village Suites(Taos Ski Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
219
40
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
40
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe riverplace to stayin townthe kitchenback porchannual christmasroom suiterooms were very clean and comfortablenext yeargas fireplaceski liftpicnic tablesoff seasonnew mexicorestaurants and shopscharcoal grill
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very helpful service. I will stay there again. They knew the area and helped me find the best deals in town.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandersfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We never cease to be amazed by this place. The owners continue to make improvements/upgrades year after year. Two of our three grandchildren have learned to snow ski right outside our unit and they fish in the river during the warmer months. They feed the deer, ducks, and raccoons by hand and pull trout from the river for us to grill.

If you ever stay here one time - you will be hooked. Great facilities, great location, and wonderful owners/staff.

The Rossers

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is a number 1 for lodging inRed River. Very Clean Cabins. Our experience here was excellemt, all the way from management, front desk secretaries, to the housekeeping staff. Great family atmospher. Cabins with full kitchens are equipted with everything you need. If it is not in your cabin, just ask for it. They probablly have whatever you need at the office. Would recomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A famous song begins "There's no place like home for the holidays"....well, we found home in Copper King Lodge, New Mexico.
We have visited Red River on many occasions, but this was our first time to stay at Copper King Lodge. We traveled during the summer time looking for an ideal place for our party of 3 adult children, their spouses, 11 grandchildren, 1 great grandmother, and 4 dear friends. As we explored our many options, Cooper King was our last visit on that summer day. We were greeted by the owners and staff members with courtesy and efficiency, as they tried to fulfill our request. We came to the conclusion that this would be the ideal place to have a "White Christmas." Upon our return in December, the rooms were clean and stocked with the tools we needed to feed the troops, a well equipped kitchen. If something was missing, all we had to do was ask the staff members. A barbeque pit outside the rooms allowed for an evening of snow burgers and hotdogs. The shops, the grocery store, restaurants, the slopes, and the park were all within walking distance. There were plenty of things to occupy our party of 24. One could walk or ride the shuttle to the slopes. Just outside our doors or over the bridge of the river, one could sled or just sit on the swings and feed the deer and ducks.
We would like to extend thanks to Ms. Nora and Mr. Marvin. The housekeeping staff was able to meet all of our needs and made us feel at home. The owners were available for any questions we might have and Ms. Donna was quick to respond to our inquiries.
Cooper King Lodge provided us with an excellent experience. For us, "I'm dreaming of a White Christmas" is no longer a song, but a beautiful memory.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 18, they children called it the Penthouse because the view from the 2nd floor was fabulous.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was our third Christmas Holiday to stay at the Copper King Lodge. We had such an enjoyable stay the first two visits that we don't even look at other accomodations in Red River.

The innkeepers have done much work since our last visit, continually improving the quaility of their inn. New flatscreen TVs, new window treatments and bedspreads, new headboards being made by their maintenance guy, and rumor of new carpet on the way. There is nothing wrong with the old carpet, but they do an excellent job of keeping the place fresh. My wife also commented on the 'fluffy' towels which she surely appreciates.

As always, our kids enjoyed playing along the creek in the snow under the watchful eye of their grandparents, feeding the ducks, etc. Other places would have a parking lot for the kids to play in...at the Copper King Lodge, you have the Red River as your backyard. And, being only steps away from the Copper Chair (when it's running) is a plus too. It's a great family inn.

The housekeeping folks truly work hard to ensure your stay is pleasant. They are a most friendly group who have become friends over the years.

Our last evening, the innkeepers came by to wish us a safe trip back home and offered assistance on possible routes given inclement weather we were facing. They truly care about their guests and make us feel as though our business is much appreciated. If Red River is in the cards next year...we'll be back at the Copper King Lodge.

Room Tip: Unit 13 has a back door that opens to the Red River with gas and charcoal pits right off the 'porch'. It's also the most convenient to the hot tub, but can also be 'too close' to the hottub if you want to hit the sack early. We love 13.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews