We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
96
23
10
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
23
10
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse fire pit in town bloody mary bar cozy hotel clean comfortable rooms recommend hotel amazing hospitality two thumbs separate bedroom swing set make smores the perfect place to stay queen bed feel like family sitting area new mexico
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed all over town in Red River. Hotel Ryland is by far the best place that we have found. The beds are most likely the most comfortable hotel bed that I have ever slept on. Definitely the most comfortable in Red River. The fireplace was great with plenty of wood stacked right outside your door. The rooms were very clean as well. Above all else Mr Carl is the best. I could talk to him all day about Red River. He even helped me get my truck cranked. The are very pet friendly. This will always be our first choice in Red River.

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokokoko555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Well, everything in Red River these days is too expensive. Given that, I think Hotel Ryland offers a good price. Overall stay was good. However, there were some basic things that could have made our stay much better.

Good things first: we brought our dog and the hotel is ideal for pets. There is a small grassy area right by the hotel that is perfect for dog walks and a little potty station. So convenient; even our scaredy pooch liked it. Also, the fellow running the office was so helpful and nice, and burned a little pinion wood fire pit each night in the grassy area that was awesome. The hotel is very quaint with good decor and televisions in both the living are and the bedroom. There are fans in both spaces as well. It was quiet but being right by the road it you can hear traffic, but that's just because Red River is in a valley. The location is perfect - on the Eagle Nest side of the strip, at the end. Quiet enough for sleep and in walking distance of the whole town.

Now for the not so good. We came in August, and while the nights are wonderful, the room did get very warm in the daytime. There is no air conditioning! Now, in a mountain town that is not necessarily unusual. However, it is inconvenient. A simple swamp cooler in the back window in the bedroom would be SUCH an easy fix. If not for the fan, we would have insisted on our money back and had to stay somewhere else. Next, the wood floor, while full of character, was a bit grungy and not swept. The bathroom had HAIR... LONG HAIR (neither of us have long hair) in the shower/tub and in one of the towels. Gross. The small fridge had a freezer on top that did not work, and since we bring all our own food, that was a bit of a hinderance (especially since we could not use it to make ice for the trip home). The afore-mentioned televisions were okay but difficult to figure out and the remote in the living room did not work.

I can look past obvious limitations of an older hotel, but the things you CAN fix and maintain ought to be top-notch!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbywinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Management had the opportunity to correct a problem and missed the oopportunity to get a good review. One of the cabins was dirty with bugs and blood on bed cover. We’ve stayed at the hotel several times and took our family this time. We rented three cabins and one room. Hotel management doesn’t value its customers. Too bad for us and them. Can’t recommend to family or friends. Carl is great we love him like a family member. Some of the staff are good. The person sent to look at the problem said New Mexico has bugs and the blood was a booger. Too bad we enjoyed staying there and feel bad for our family member and how they were treated.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rambler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

This was our first time to stay here. The price is right, the staff helpful & friendly, the room clean& the bed comfortable. The hotel is in walking distance from anywhere you want to go to in town. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching people walking by & soaking up the cool climate. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank OK_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This was our first time to stay in Hotel Ryland but have been to Red River many times. To say we loved Hotel Ryland would be an understatement! The personal touches in the cabins were amazing and I can’t say enough about the staff. They made us feel like family. Carl is the best and we loved the campfires in the evening and conversation. Thank you Diane Clive and Stacy for being so welcoming. Thank you so much for taking care of our puppy Nala while we hit the trails. First class service for sure! We feel like we met friends we will keep in touch with for a long time. We can’t wait until our next trip to Hotel Ryland!

Tim & Jaime Hays

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews