We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Suite a bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“King Suite a bargain!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in a king suite because the standard kings were full. What a great deal! The king bed was in a separate room with its own TV, adjoining a gigantic bathroom with separate shower and tub and a large two-sink counter. The tub was the largest we've ever seen (not a jacuzzi, just a huge tub). In the living room we had a large couch, an easy chair, lots of lamps, another TV, and a desk and chair. The lighting should be brighter; when we mentioned this to the front desk they said they are going to improve it. We had read in earlier reviews about the potential for noise near the pool. It turns out the there are only 2 King Suites, and they are at the end of the courtyard, right next to the pool. We actually sort of enjoyed hearing the kids enjoying themselves in the pool, but if there had been too many and for too long, it would have been bothersome. The exercise room is better than most, with excellent equipment in good repair. The courtyard in the middle of the property is cavernous, almost spookily so when there is no one around. When we reviewed the property before coming we thought it was weird that there were both interior and exterior doors, and when we drove up we hesitated again. But it's really cool! You can park your car right outside your room door, very convenient for bringing your luggage in. And then you can just use the interior door for the rest of your stay. Our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The front desk was super. We mentioned concern about the fires burning north of us, and whether the road might be closed, and the manager immediately got on his computer and gave us all the information we needed. Breakfast was very good, and the server helpful and cheerful. We took the walking tour of the historic district of Raton while we were there, and thoroughly enjoyed the town and the friendly people. Stop by the Shuler Theater if you get a chance, and get a tour from Bill Fegan; it is a charming theater, beautiful, and full of history, which Bill will be happy to share. Then go to Solano's Western Store the next block down and see the cowboy hat "cemetery." Have fun in Raton!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    171
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
323
232
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wheat Ridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Raton Hotel, located in Raton New Mexico, was a very pleasant surprise, as we traveled through New Mexico. The General Manager, Mike Mulligan, was awesome! He was exceptionally helpful and welcoming. I liked the fact that you could enter your room from the interior or exterior of the complex. Additionally, the attached restaurant,Mulligans,offered outstanding food at very reasonable prices. I stay in many Best Western's annually, and the Raton Hotel is truly one of the finest!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Excellent, clean, beds very comfortable. You can enter rooms from either inside of hotel or outside. Great stop leaving Texas heading towards Colorado!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mineandthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We made reservations for our Spring Break trip, we chose this hotel because it had an indoor pool. We were definatly not dissapointed. For the price it was amazing and we got a hot breakfast. Only suggestion, ask for a room away from the pool if you plan on sleeping :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitad364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwratongm, Manager at Best Western Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thanks for choosing the BEST WESTERN PLUS Raton Hotel for your stay during spring break; we thoroughly enjoyed having lots of families and lots of kids staying here with us. Yes, the pool was definitely used quite a bit this weekend. We do close the pool at 9:00 PM each evening in order to not disturb nearby guests, so it may be good to ask for a room away from the pool if bedtime is before 9:00. But it is great to see folks enjoying our amenities. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Expecting an ordinary night's stay in this small New Mexico town we were greatly surprised to find this lovely retreat. The room was what I would consider a 5-Star - beautiful amenities and attention to detail in decoration. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have experienced. Our greatest surprise was the lovely indoor courtyard onto which our room opened. We had had a 14 hour drive getting to Raton on the way to Denver for a funeral. It was nice to feel so "spoiled" by the staff. Mulligans Restauraant had excellent food, reasonably priced. It was hard to believe that it was an old, ready to tear down Holiday Inn from the 70's. The extensive remodel definitely made it feel and look like a brand new hotel. We have already recommended it to all of our friends who travel frequently to Denver. It is a MUST STAY AGAIN for us. The owner/manager was a most gracious host.

Room Tip: I have no doubt that any room selected would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
120 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
28.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Raton Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Address: 473 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing