We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit, especially during happy hour”
Review of Old Martina's Hall

Old Martina's Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: O.M.H. Is a historic adobe nestled in the heart of the original Ranchos de Taos. Our fare is a marriage of contemporary, Southwestern flavors with New Mexican cuisine, serving Brunch and Dinner. The Bar has many local and import beers on tap with fine French, Italian, Domestic and Local wines on our list. Check our online calendar for upcoming Live Music shows!
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Enjoyed the quality of food in this historic building. Tried it a couple of times while visiting Taos and all choices were great. Happy Hour includes half price on excellent wines as well as many appetizers and small plates. Shrimp, crab cakes, and calamari were all great.

Thank elainep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio V, General Manager at Old Martina's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Well, we're so happy to see your review! We're glad the food measured up -- that's what we strive for here. There's more where all of that came from, so we can't wait to do it all again soon! Cheers. -Old Martina's Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2016

After 4 disappointing lunches, i decided to try the new chef. Still a disappointment. My steak (the size of a deck of cards) in the Southwest steak salad was over-aged and over-cooked -- I had ordered rare. There was nothing Southwest in grilled Romaine wedges with walnuts, bacon bits and grapes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ukeeharb0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio V, General Manager at Old Martina's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

We're really disappointed to read your review. We always strive for excellence here, and it's incredibly disappointing if you've experienced anything less than stellar food. That's not how we do things here, and we're really hoping you'll give us another shot to impress you. -Old Martina's Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

This is a special Taos area restaurant. The facility is classic southwest and spacious. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The food is excellently prepared and beautifully presented. I had the stuffed mushrooms and then the chicken quesadillas - both were excellent. I WILL be back!!!

Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio V, General Manager at Old Martina's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Dave, we're so happy to see your review! Truly, it was our pleasure having you by for a visit, and we're so glad the food hit the spot! There's more where all of that came from, so we hope to have you back for another visit soon! Take care. -Old Martina's Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I stumbled upon this gem of a place while visiting the famous church across the road as I could smell the cooking. A gorgeous interior, cool arty Taos decor. The menu has European style dishes as well as Imaginative Southwestern cuisine with lots of yummy things to pick from. Vegetarian and gluten free as well.

Wine portions are generous with individual back up carafes for an extra top up.

Our group of 5 were all very happy with their food and service was excellent and comfortable.

This was our best meal in Taos! Definable recommend this establishment.

Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio V, General Manager at Old Martina's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Suzanne, we can't tell you how much this review means to us! Thank you so much for stopping by, and thanks for the kind words. Folks like you are why we do what we do, and we're lucky to have you. We hope to see you in here again soon! Cheers. -Old Martina's Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've avoided Old Martina's for 2 years, after an inedible chicken salad sandwich and a mediocre dinner a few months before that. Went for lunch with a largish group and had something I normally wouldn't order for lunch -- a grilled ruby red trout special. It was Excellent and a Great Value. A businesswoman in the area told me that changes had been made in chefs, compensation system for waitstaff, etc. The German woman who invested millions in restoring this wonderful old building seemed to have trouble keeping chefs and managers, in addition to a sometimes weird menu. I hope she treasures this current combination and gives them enough latitude to do their thing. 99% of Taos wants OMH to succeed, especially in light of the sabotage by the other 1% during the beer/wine permitting process. For the first time in a long time, the quality of the food arises to the level of the building.

1  Thank MarkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio V, General Manager at Old Martina's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

We're so incredibly happy to see your review! Thank you for the kind words, and thanks for being a wonderful guest. Folks like you are why we do what we do! Hopefully, we'll have you back for another visit soon. -Old Martina's Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Martina's Hall also viewed

 

Been to Old Martina's Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing