We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the trout ”

Artesian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Just north of Santa Fe is Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs' secluded sanctuary. Deemed sacred by Native Americans of Northern New Mexico, our legendary waters have been soothing body, mind, and spirit naturally for centuries. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Ojo is the only hot springs in the world with 4 unique, sulfur-free mineral waters. The resort is historic, yet modern and fresh with eclectic charm in a relaxed and tranquil environment. The full-service spa offers a wide array of restorative treatments including nurturing massage and hydrating face and body treatments. Don't miss a soak in a private outdoor pool by fire at night or in the seasonal, detoxifying mud pool. We offer an unpretentious and uncomplicated atmosphere with a variety of lodging accommodations, including enchanting suites, charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. All lodging includes access to all mineral pools every day of your visit.
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

We ate here for dinner. We had the fried Chile appetizer and it was great. I got the trout and my husband got the NY strip. Both were fantastic, particularly the trout. Our server was also very helpful. The NY strip was good, but way too rich after a day of getting dehydrated in the pools. I also had one of the wine "margaritas" which was very interesting. It is the only restaurant on the resort,but it's really good! It is pricey though.

Thank CrystalAnn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear CrystalAnn56,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to read you and your husband enjoyed your dinner at Ojo's Artesian Restaurant.

The lightly fried, potato-encrusted Poblano Green Chile “Fries” served with a hot ‘n sweet chile vinegar dipping sauce are very popular with guests and an Ojo favorite.

Our Agave Wine Margaritas are made with agave wine. Since the wine is made from the same plant as tequila, it has a similar flavor with a much lower alcohol content. A tasty alternative to tequila-based margaritas and like the Green Chile "Fries", a very popular choice of our guests.

We are very grateful you enjoyed the Grilled Ruby Trout and your husband enjoyed the NY Strip au poivre (pepper steak) currently offered on our dinner menu. Our restaurant staff works hard to provide delicious fresh meals with gracious service and we are glad you enjoyed your meal.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you can return again soon to Ojo for another enjoyable meal.

Sincerely,


Eric Shoemake
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

they serve small portions. the wine is overpriced. service can be slow but worth the wait, cheaper to eat in the bar

Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Lorraine2010,

Thank you for your review of Ojo's Artesian Restaurant and Wine Bar.

In the restaurant, we do our very best to serve healthy, fresh and traditional Northern New Mexico cuisine. The recent addition and growth of our two-acre farm on the property allows us to offer farm-to-table menu items that incorporate seasonally available herbs, fruits and vegetables, all grown using organic and sustainable practices.

Lighter fare and an extensive selection of local and imported wine and beer, are featured in the adjacent Wine Bar and Lounge.

We do offer a separate wine bar menu which does include smaller portion wine bar menu choices than our restaurant dinner menu. We also have a Farm to Kitchen menu which features seasonal offerings based on the availability of vegetables from our Ojo Farm.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we value your feedback.

Sincerely,


Eric Shoemake
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Exceptional menu full of locally sourced products. Incredible variety of fresh options, vegetables and local favorites like red and green chiles. We ate all of our meals at this restaurant while visiting the spa - the food was so good there was not need to venture elsewhere. Breakfast plates are were updated classics that redefined dishes like chile relleno. Simply delicious. Wine and bar service is first class. Each evening provided a variety of meat, chicken and vegetarian dishes that were plentiful and enough to share. Absolutely, fine dining at reasonable prices.

Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Carmen M,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience at Ojo's Artesian Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,


Eric Shoemake
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

...the chocolate kind of truffles I mean - four of them served with two buttery sweet cookies of the type my grandmother called Mexican wedding cakes, which my Minnesota friends grew up calling something else, but who cares about that, right? We loved our fish tacos and the truffles and the caramel pecan dessert too!

Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Sandy B,

Thank you so much for the review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed the Ojo Fish Tacos and the desserts of the Artesian Restaurant.

The Ojo Fish Tacos are available for both lunch and dinner are very popular with our guests and include two corn tortillas, blackened mahi-mahi, shredded cabbage, cilantro mayo, chipotle honey and a side of mango salsa. Yum.

All of our desserts are made in-house and we have an entire menu dedicated to our desserts including Ojo truffles; creme brule; coconut mango tres leches; a caramel pecan square with vanilla ice cream and a favorite - a chocolate cigar.

We hope you can return again soon for another visit.

Sincerely,


Eric Shoemake
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The chile fries were excellent, a good appetizer option for vegans. My companion was able to get a vegan chile relleno which also came with a tamale(it's not on the menu so you need to ask). The chicken enchiladas were tasty too. We were too stuffed to try the desserts! Went back to our room to digest, then went to the hot springs to complete the process. The next morning we had breakfast and the blue corn pinon pancakes were very good. Oatmeal was satisfying as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojowaters, Manager at Artesian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Noelle G,

Thank you so much for posting a review about your experience at the Artesian Restaurant. Our vegan and vegetarian guests are always asking about options in the restaurant and we very much appreciate your feedback.

We hope you can visit Ojo again soon.

Sincerely,

Eric Shoemake
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artesian Restaurant also viewed

Ojo Caliente, Taos County
Ojo Caliente, Taos County
 

Been to Artesian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing