We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Josefina's Restaurant ...its Outside Patio is oh so mellow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesilla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Josefina's Old Gate
Ranked #2 of 2 Mesilla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a review of Josefina's restaurant, not the attached next door hotel, Josefina's Old Gate. Josefina's is just a bit off the beaten path down the street from Mesilla plaza, but worth a visit for its very mellow and comfortable outside patio areas. Food is a variety of cuisines, with something for most, and they take pride in making at least some dishes from scratch. I always order at least a small bowl of Posole...but even the Quiche is tasty...and the usual NM cuisine is available. Great place to sort of relax outside for lunch while conversing with friends. If the weather is "bad", there's inside space, although more limited. Sunshine, or shade, outside is available...and on sunny days, worth paying attention to for fair skinned and easily burned.

Room Tip: TripAdvisor is thinking the review is of the hotel, but it's just of the restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank andflywrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josefinas, Owner at Josefina's Old Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you...we love to have guest that enjoy our space and food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We had been shopping and were in the need of a bite of lunch. We opted for the patio setting under the big umbrellas. The menu is varied, offering selections for breakfast, brunch and lunch. My selection was the squash quesadilla, and I wasn't disappointed. Service was friendly, the atmosphere relaxed and unhurried. I look forward to another visit; and in case the weather isn't so accommodating, there is indoor seating. We did not use the B & B features.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpryWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josefinas, Owner at Josefina's Old Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your positive comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

If you love to go to Santa Fe but find yourself off roading down HWY 54 and then 70 to Las Cruses....well you have to stay here. Off the small plaza in the Mesilla area of Las Cruses. It's a beautiful spot with wonderful restaurants. We had drinks and dinner at the Double Eagle. I know right? But Josefina's Bed and Breakfast is the Ralph Lauren of Las Cruses, New Mexico. The innkeepers are knowledgeable to the area and have a wonderful night stay for all that travel the Southwest.
Pattie Hood

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 215Pattie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josefinas, Owner at Josefina's Old Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words....Bob the Inn keeper is the the best host when travelers check in! Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch while shopping in Mesilla. Excellent lunch. Good service. Relaxing atmosphere, after a shopping g session in Mesilla. I tried the squash quesadilla. It was very good. The waiter was very helpful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josefinas, Owner at Josefina's Old Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

My Ma and I love this place - it's our go to place in Mesilla for a lovely healthy lunch. It takes you back in time with the most photographed gate in the world ! This place is quaint and one feels so relaxed here and the food is outstanding - all made from scratch! Stop at Josefinas when you're here - they definitely don't disappoint

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank beajessbonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesilla
6.7 km away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
2.7 km away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#5 of 34 in Las Cruces
708 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 34 in Las Cruces
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Lundeen Inn of the Arts
Lundeen Inn of the Arts
#4 of 9 in Las Cruces
53 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mesilla
Hotel Mesilla
#29 of 34 in Las Cruces
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josefina's Old Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefina's Old Gate

Address: 2261 Calle de Guadalupe, Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces > Mesilla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mesilla
Price Range: €121 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint adobe house known simply as “Josefina’s” has long been a symbol of warmth and welcome on the Historic Old Mesilla Plaza. Josefina’s is aptly named for the dynamic and outgoing woman who lived here for nearly 35 years and established the Luminaria Tradition of Mesilla. Dating back to the early 1900’s this home has served as a place to gather, socialize, and celebrate. This tradition lives on as “Josefina’s” opens its gates to the community and visitors of Mesilla.Once the site of holiday open houses and afternoon get-togethers, we now invite all to relax, spend time with friends and family, and enjoy the plaza in an intimate and comfortable setting. Whether you are gathering for a tea party on our patio, a luncheon in our café, celebrating a special anniversary in our Historic Inn, or shopping for that “must have” at Old Gate Antique’s, you are sure to find the warmth of Southern New Mexico charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Josefina`s Old Gate Hotel Mesilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing