We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesilla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Josefina's Old Gate
Ranked #2 of 2 Mesilla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked the room for my wedding night and was very impressed with the room size and old world decor. It was charming. The defective Kuerig machine leaked coffee the next morning and my husband used two of the bathroom hand towels to clean up the spill. I received a nasty voice message from one of the owners while on my honeymoon asking if it was "bodily fluid, wine, etc." and reminding me that I would be charged for towels if the stain wouldn't come out. I found her tone, choice of words, and attitude in very bad taste. I would stay there again but take my own towels and try to avoid the owner.

Room Tip: The Master suite is spacious and has access to a private and lush courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We found this lovely restaurant by accident. As a matter of fact we found the whole town by accident and am so glad we did. We had a great breakfast on the loveliest patio in town. Next time we are headed east we will go to Josefinas's again to eat and maybe stay in one of the rooms they have available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgunning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed over night for wife's birthday. Wanted to take advantage of wineries in the area and not have to drive. Simply stated the room exceeded our expectations. The inn only has two rooms one king and one queen. Both in close proximity to each other as the structure was clearly a large home historically.

Our reception from the owner was warm and welcoming. The king size room was very large and included two very comfortable chairs, a chaise, huge very comfortable four post bed. The furnishings are a mix of antiques and slightly more modern pieces. The bedding was obviously high quality. The room also had a wood burning fireplace, individually controlled air conditioner with remote, TV, coffee maker and cookies.

The bathroom was also very large with plenty of counter space, shower bath combo, heater, blow dryer and toiletries. We could not get over the size of the accommodations.

The rooms are connected to each other and the larger structure by hallways and patios. Exploring these for ice and a coke were fun as we were able to see the antique furniture and art. There is a very large shared atrium with lush plants and romantic night lights. There is also a small patio with fire pit and string lights over a pergola. Perfect place to sit with a glass of local NM wine. The inn also has a small private parking area close to room entrances. This is a big plus for exploring the historic plaza on foot.

The inn has a cafe that serves during breakfast and lunch. We did not partake but the cafe patio is great and often has live music in the acoustic, jazz vein. It is important to note the plaza has fine dinning, great Mexican food, bars, wineries, a historic theater and lots of shops. There are often vendors and activities in the plaza.

Josefina's is great. Well worth the price and will not hesitate to stay again!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stopped in for lunch on a cool December day, met quickly and seated in a nice quiet corner, the service was quick, the red chile was very tasty, will go again for brunch! Nice loation right in the mix of Messilla Plaza

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Did not stay in the Inn, but we have eaten lunch there several times and found the atmosphere and the food to be very good. The menu is creative, the portions are good sized and taste great. Just a few steps from the town square, it's worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dqdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesilla
6.7 km away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
2.7 km away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#5 of 34 in Las Cruces
708 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 34 in Las Cruces
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Lundeen Inn of the Arts
Lundeen Inn of the Arts
#4 of 9 in Las Cruces
53 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mesilla
Hotel Mesilla
#29 of 34 in Las Cruces
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josefina's Old Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefina's Old Gate

Address: 2261 Calle de Guadalupe, Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces > Mesilla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mesilla
Price Range: €121 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint adobe house known simply as “Josefina’s” has long been a symbol of warmth and welcome on the Historic Old Mesilla Plaza. Josefina’s is aptly named for the dynamic and outgoing woman who lived here for nearly 35 years and established the Luminaria Tradition of Mesilla. Dating back to the early 1900’s this home has served as a place to gather, socialize, and celebrate. This tradition lives on as “Josefina’s” opens its gates to the community and visitors of Mesilla.Once the site of holiday open houses and afternoon get-togethers, we now invite all to relax, spend time with friends and family, and enjoy the plaza in an intimate and comfortable setting. Whether you are gathering for a tea party on our patio, a luncheon in our café, celebrating a special anniversary in our Historic Inn, or shopping for that “must have” at Old Gate Antique’s, you are sure to find the warmth of Southern New Mexico charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Josefina`s Old Gate Hotel Mesilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing