We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
33
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful patio mesilla plaza double eagle pozole quesadilla new mexico bed and breakfast las plants squash pappas
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We found this lovely restaurant by accident. As a matter of fact we found the whole town by accident and am so glad we did. We had a great breakfast on the loveliest patio in town. Next time we are headed east we will go to Josefinas's again to eat and maybe stay in one of the rooms they have available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgunning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed over night for wife's birthday. Wanted to take advantage of wineries in the area and not have to drive. Simply stated the room exceeded our expectations. The inn only has two rooms one king and one queen. Both in close proximity to each other as the structure was clearly a large home historically.

Our reception from the owner was warm and welcoming. The king size room was very large and included two very comfortable chairs, a chaise, huge very comfortable four post bed. The furnishings are a mix of antiques and slightly more modern pieces. The bedding was obviously high quality. The room also had a wood burning fireplace, individually controlled air conditioner with remote, TV, coffee maker and cookies.

The bathroom was also very large with plenty of counter space, shower bath combo, heater, blow dryer and toiletries. We could not get over the size of the accommodations.

The rooms are connected to each other and the larger structure by hallways and patios. Exploring these for ice and a coke were fun as we were able to see the antique furniture and art. There is a very large shared atrium with lush plants and romantic night lights. There is also a small patio with fire pit and string lights over a pergola. Perfect place to sit with a glass of local NM wine. The inn also has a small private parking area close to room entrances. This is a big plus for exploring the historic plaza on foot.

The inn has a cafe that serves during breakfast and lunch. We did not partake but the cafe patio is great and often has live music in the acoustic, jazz vein. It is important to note the plaza has fine dinning, great Mexican food, bars, wineries, a historic theater and lots of shops. There are often vendors and activities in the plaza.

Josefina's is great. Well worth the price and will not hesitate to stay again!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stopped in for lunch on a cool December day, met quickly and seated in a nice quiet corner, the service was quick, the red chile was very tasty, will go again for brunch! Nice loation right in the mix of Messilla Plaza

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Did not stay in the Inn, but we have eaten lunch there several times and found the atmosphere and the food to be very good. The menu is creative, the portions are good sized and taste great. Just a few steps from the town square, it's worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dqdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Located right in the heart of Old Mesilla, New Mexico, Josefina’s Old Gate is definitely not your ordinary overnight stay. It’s not a bed & breakfast and it’s not a hotel. The entire Josefina’s area is an indoor café, a patio café, an antiques store, and the inn. The inn is comprised of only two rooms, a king suite and a queen suite, and they do not come cheap.

We were fortunate enough to reserve the king suite only a week in advance on Labor Day weekend for one night. We were looking for a weekend getaway near Mesilla, NM and Josefina’s was perfect. The room has a quaint, old fashioned feel, made up of a sitting room, bedroom, and bath. The suite features a comfortable bed, lush, thick towels, a fireplace, and modern amenities like a Keurig coffee maker and an iHome iPod player. Guests also are able to use a mini fridge in the hallway adjoining the two rooms. Highlights are the sitting areas in the garden greenhouse and the backyard patio.

The owners, Bob & Kathleen Hamilton, make you feel right at home and they leave the inn area to you overnight. We had the place to ourselves, and it was very peaceful and quiet. Guests have access through a front door entryway and a back door entrance through the garden greenhouse from the guest parking area.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and it was great to be within walking distance of all the attractions in Old Mesilla without having to worry about parking. It was a relaxing, romantic escape and a truly one of a kind experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shgardeajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews