We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife and I stayed there on a recent trip to New Mexico and this was the best place we stayed at during the whole week. Beautiful, large rooms very tastefully decorated in the western indian style. The bathrooms are large with lot's of counter space and the towels and handclothes are like dept. store new in quality. The lobby and public areas are very inviting and decorated with high quality indian arts and crafts. Also, the rooms are very quiet and the entire place is spotless.
My only complait is that the bathrooms are not well lighted, especially the area around the mirrors, where it should be. This could be corrected by simply installing better fixtures which throw more light. Can't believe that I am the only one to notice that.
Outside of that, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upper floor which normally are more quiet than the lowers floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We spent one night at this hotel last week. I was gladly surprised when we checked into our room. We got the least expensive room, and the room was pretty large, clean, and felt really nice. There was a very comfortable king size bed (my wife made the comment the next morning that we need to buy a new bed ourselves after sleeping on this one). There was a small fridge, coffee maker, and free bottles of water. The bathroom was large with plenty of space for both of us. The decor was very tastefully done. The lobby area is really pretty. There is a Starbucks in the lobby with all the usual stuff. I asked and was told that there was no room service though - so no breakfast in bed. Overall, it is a nice place to stay if you are in the Espanola area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ABitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Good facilities but should be as place is fairly new. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We are from Santa Fe NM and have traveled throughout the world including Europe and Souteast Asia. We stayed at the Santa Claran Hotel for a weekend and very much enjoyed our stay. The Santa Claran is very tastefully furnished and avoids the glitz of casino resorts.
The lobby is welcoming and done in native american elegance. Our room was very comfortable and offered views of the mountains in the distance.
The Black Mesa Steakhouse is an upscale oasis and the service was very attentive.
Elvis was at the events center and was a true pro from Las Vegas, which only cost $15. (A great value for a wonderful show).
As hotel guests we received coupons for the casino and actually made a few dollars!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

What a total nightmare!!! The company I was with rented almost the whole hotel for a month, so one would think the service and staff would have been more accommodating, how wrong that would be for these employees. All to top off with getting off work around 2 in the morning, with a short turn around to find out my key won't work. When i asked the person at the front desk, she told me that there was a maintenance request on my lock, and that the battery had gone out. when I asked why this was not fixed during the day, her response was; "Well, that would have been a good idea". My only option was to sleep in another room, and get into my old room when maintenance got there in the morning, making me miss my meeting. This place is a joke and the staff all seem to have a below average IQ.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank da_richa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

We are looking into the items you have mentioned, we appreciate the comments, as they help us work toward excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
16.3 km away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
12.6 km away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
97 reviews
16.6 km away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
933 reviews
36.3 km away
La Fonda on the Plaza
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
6.6 km away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claran Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claran Hotel Casino

Address: 460 N Riverside Dr, connected to Santa Claran Casino, Espanola, NM 87532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range: €74 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claran Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Claran Hotel is conveniently located North of Santa Fe and South of Toas in the heart of Northern New Mexico. The blend of Native American, Spanish and Mexican influences are featured in this newest hotel in the North of New Mexico. With its finely appointed atmosphere, quiet surroundings, majestic views and noted hospitality and service, the Santa Claran is the best value, within minutes of the historic, natural and spiritual attractions of the Santa Clara Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Santa Claran Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing