We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
2
4
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

we had not seen a motel for a very long time soooo we stopped at the first one we finally came to. It was a place to lay our heads and rest and it was really inexpensive but the lady would only give us ONE bath towel. The heater was difficult to work. The lady came to help us figure out the TV but she and we never did. We had good books so we amused our selves.

Room tip: don't stay here
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty W, Manager at Sands Motel & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Sorry you didn't like our motel. Yes it is older,built in 1952.
I find it hard to understand that you have never seen a wall heater.
Maybe they don't have them there but we still use them here.
As for the TV it is Direct TV I found that the remote had quit .Some times the high winds do blow the dish. We do have to have them adjusted about twice a year usually after a couple of days of wind over 40 mph.
As for as the towels in a double room they are set for 2 people that means 2 towels and 2 wash clothes ,hand towels If you want extra ll you have to do is ask.Witch you didn't

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Motel was OK for a quick night stay. Room took a long time to get warm. There is a heater on the wall. Never saw that before. Motel is a little worse for wear, but was clean and pet friendly. Off of highway 54 just before you enter the town of carizozo. A bit noisy from the trucks going down the highway and the trains passing through the night. Didn't see that many spaces for rv's to hook up.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty W, General Manager at Sands Motel & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you for your review
Yes we are an older Motel .It was built in 1952.we are working on everything as time and money permits.
As for the trucks and trains I agree with you 100%.I have called railroad a number of times but they will just hang up on me.
One of these days you ill hear on news crazy old woman pushes train of track.(lol)
As for RV pots we have 23 on the far side of Mote. All have water ,electric, sewer.
As well as access to laundry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Located at the edge of the the small town of Carrizozo it is next to HWY 54 and the tracks.
This is for the RV park only:
Great WiFi, the one bathroom/shower is basic (shower nice). Water, electricity and sewer hookups. The town is walkable and has a few restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2015
2  Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked "last room" on booking.com. When we arrived, asked for a room with one bed instead of two. No problem, we were there early and motel was only half full. Only twelve rooms total. Reservations kept with pencil and paper. I would suggest booking direct for best room selection and price. No vacancy sign was on the next morning, so apparently filled up. Older building, but clean and someone has put some effort into decorating, even if it modest. Excellent bed and plenty of hot water. Frig and microwave. Old style locks on doors (with dead bolt), Old style gas heater on the wall worked great. Bathroom can be cold, especially if the window is opened. Would stay here again. Railroad town, so if trains bother you stay in another local.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkinnyDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We pulled in fairly late but the staff knew we were coming and waited up. Very friendly and well worth the stay-we just needed a place to parka with hook ups and we were gone the next morning on our way to visit the valley of fires and the nearby petroglyphs. The bathroom was cold but the water was plenty hot; it was January. The train was pretty loud but we didn't mind.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews