We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$461
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Expedia.com
US$461
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Trip.com
US$256
View deal
Booking.comUS$462
PricelineUS$462
eDreamsUS$462
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
692
146
30
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
692
146
30
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa villa our honeymoon cooking class plunge pool outdoor bath rose petal bath the resort manager deluxe room toilet and shower free upgrade turn down service away from the hustle and bustle a wonderful stay relaxing holiday free shuttle seminyak beach massage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The service at Amala was incredible. They have free rides to places in Semiyak that you would like to get off too. On top of that, yoga classes are available for in house guest. Service was immaculate and we feel very well taken of. Overall a stay that surprises us with their services everyday. We will definitely visit this place back again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gitay218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear gitay218,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

When you book a room with us, we do indeed offer many complimentary inclusions : free yoga and pilates classes, free drop off in Seminyak area, free airport transfer, free mini bar, free welcome massage, free flower petal romantic bath if you are on honeymoon. All those little extra services are aimed to make your stay effortless. I am glad you have appreciated those.

Thank you again for the full marks and we hope to host you again on a future stay in Bali.

With kind regards,

Amelie Tran & The Amala family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We were greeted at the airport by the hotel transfer car. The driver was very friendly and gave us cold towels and water in the car, very soothing as Bali is very hot. Its about a 25 min ride to the Amala. Check in was super swift and we were shown to our pool villa. It is very stunning with a private pool, outdoor seating area, huge bathroom and a beautiful bedroom. The villa is divine. The decor makes you know that you are definately in Bali. The villa also has its own little private garden and a waterfall! This place is idyllic. The hotel is located about 20 mins from Kudeta and central Seminyak. The hotel has a free of charge car that will take you to anywhere in Seminyak so use it as much as you like. The service is wonderful and attentive. Also if you hate mosquitoes like me dont worry they spray the room, and burn special insence to get rid of them, they also provide for no charge mosquito repellent for your skin! The bed has a mosquito net for added protection. Definately go to Ubud and Uluwatu for day trips. The hotel will organise a driver and private guide for you who speak good english. The breakfast is very good with a wide range of selection. Wifi is free. Also have the bbq in the room!! The chef comes and cooks in your room and you eat by your private pool. Seminyak is busy!! The Amala is an oasis. I will come back again. The only reccomendation i have is for the hotel to have black out blinds as this will help you to have a better quality sleep. So bring an eye mask. Love this place will come back.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Steve222_11,

Thank you very much for this excellent review. I am very glad to see that you could have experienced so many of our services during your stay : from our great day trips to Ubud and Uluwatu to having a private BBQ in your romantically set villa ! This makes me believe that you have made the most of your stay in Seminyak combining relaxing treats with sightseeing.

I have well noted your recommendation for the black out blinds, we are currently working on it with our designer, I am sure that this will definitely improve the sleep quality in the pool villas.

Thank you again for choosing The Amala as your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Amelie & The Amala Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

As others have said, Amala is hidden away just off of a main road, so much so that even some of the local drivers don't know it's there. That's the first thing that makes this place special.

Following that, it's treat after treat, as you're welcome with a beaming smile, unrivalled courtesy and complete respect. It's humbling to be welcomed in such a way.

The villas are dreamlike; private pool, shower and steam room, outside bath...then the rooms are incredible. The attention to detail is really what sets them apart - fresh Balinese fruit every day, a complimentary mini bar full of soft drinks, amazing incense and candles burning when you arrive. We were sat down in our villa and walked through everything by the ever cheerful Kadek.

We had dinner sitting outside our villa, next to the pool on the first night and the food was excellent (the steamed fish was unreal). The breakfast each day is tasty, and you can pick pretty much as much as you want from it. The breakfast menu is also big enough to eat something different each day and still find surprises. The menu also highlights healthy, vegan and glutenfree options.

You're given complimentary welcome massages as part of your reservation. My girlfriend and I decided to upgrade to the 90 minute massage instead; cucumber drink on arrival, foot wash and a very impressive all body massage made us both fall asleep!

All in all, an amazing place to stay. Don't hesitate in booking, as you won't be disappointed.

Thanks to Amelie, Kadek and all the other wonderful staff at Amala for an amazing stay. We'll be back.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Ledhead214,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I have shared your feedback with Kadek and the rest of our team. It's such a pleasure for our Amala Family to read that you have truly enjoyed a relaxing and zen experience with us.

We can't wait to welcome you back at The Amala. When you would like to do so, please do contact us by email, we will be happy to offer you a special discount for repeater guest.

Kindest regards from sunny Bali,

Amelie Tran & The Amala Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly, I will say that the staff were very helpful and friendly. They were able to make restaurant reservations for us and they even used the hotel car to drop us off. The room was nice, clean and modern. Although the I would say that the shower had seen better days and could do with replacing. The pool is small and quite underwhelming, however with the beach just down the road, it's not a problem at all.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bhughes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Bhughes13,

Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your tropical gateway. It has been a delight to host you and assist you in making the most of your holidays in Bali. We are always happy to offer our complimentary drop off service when possible. Replacing all our head showers is already on our maintenance plans for low season, I hope you can try them on your next stay with us.

Most of our guests do enjoy their in-villa private pool thus our main public is hardly ever used.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in our little oasis.

Kind regards,

Amelie & The Amala Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Due to a last minute change in our travel plans in Bali/Gili T, we were able to find a COMPLETE steal. After a delayed rocky boat ride from Gili T, we arrived even later at our hotel in Bali...UNFORTUNATELY. It's hidden and I am beyond glad it is because it's truly a remarkable place to stay. First of all, the staff was so accommodating. They treat you like you're royalty with so much respect and courtesy. The villa grounds were so beautiful and zen. The rooms were clean and smelled fantastic. The oil scent they use to make the rooms smell good, is something you want in your home. They provide you with mosquito repellant, fresh fruit, and a mini stocked fridge (complimentary). I really wished we had found this place sooner so we could have arranged to stay here when we first arrived in Bali of our two week adventure. Not to mention, their prices were unreal for the services they provide and they also throw in a 15 min complimentary welcome massage which you can arrange during your stay. I've stayed at well known higher end resorts and they didn't even provide everything the Amala Villas did. I felt so relaxed staying here and it is also walking distance from the popular shopping/restaurant streets. BOOK HERE. STAY HERE. You will not regret it.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank chan_tal7656
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear ctjon88,

I have no words to express our gratitude for this wonderful review. I am so glad to read that you loved our attentive service, our villa design and the little details that made your stay memorable. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in your next vacation in Bali.

Thank you again for recommending us, please spread the word.

Kindest regards,

Amelie & The Amala Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews