We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUCK DUCK PORK”
Review of Makao Bali

Makao Bali
Ranked #12 of 649 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Description: At Makao Bali you can be sure to taste delicious Singaporean Asian BBQ specialties, cooked to perfection. Try our signature Peking Duck and Asian Pancakes, or Oriental Roast Chicken, Pork Char Siew, BBQ ribs, Crispy Pork Belly and much more! New on our menu is our Roti Canai & Curry. Located off the main road in Seminyak, enjoy a cosy Asian vintage atmosphere and feel right at home.
Restaurant details
Description: At Makao Bali you can be sure to taste delicious Singaporean Asian BBQ specialties, cooked to perfection. Try our signature Peking Duck and Asian Pancakes, or Oriental Roast Chicken, Pork Char Siew, BBQ ribs, Crispy Pork Belly and much more! New on our menu is our Roti Canai & Curry. Located off the main road in Seminyak, enjoy a cosy Asian vintage atmosphere and feel right at home.
Reviewed 29 April 2018

What a fantastic restaurant. We came for the duck and we weren't disappointed. Visited here twice. Peking Duck Pancakes were so tasty. The duck however does come on the bone, but a small inconvenience for a delicious meal. The Crispy pork belly with Hong Kong style noodles was a surprise. Braised pork, pork ribs and more duck and noodles yum!!!! The noodles look so simple but taste divine. The big treat was dessert, yum yum and so cheap. Prices are inclusive of tax, which is a nice change. Service was good and restaurant and bathrooms spotless. Make sure you visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jbmb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We ordered roasted peking duck. It was very good but prices from other reviews are not valid anymore. Prices went up by 100%. You still get great food even though it is not as cheap. Restaurant is designed very well and has nice climate.

Thank Karol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakaoBali, Manager at Makao Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us ! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience & food at Makao Bali. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding prices, but wish to clarify that we have not increased our prices. You may have seen reviews on our Lunch Specials including Peking Duck and other BBQ meats with rice vegetables and Ice Tea for Rose. 55k. We always serve this menu at lunch. During dinner we serve A La Carte menu. Where our whole Peking Duck is at Rp. 350k. We hope to welcome you again soon to try more of our dishes - Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

The babi kecap is really nice. The beans that come with it are good too. Good sized portion at 68.000.

We were early for dinner and yet some items (papaya salad) were not availlible. That is a let down.

Thank fiona v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakaoBali, Manager at Makao Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner at Makao Bali, and apologize for not having the papaya salad on the day. Indeed our supplier was out of the condiments used for the dressing. We hope to welcome you again soon to serve you the papaya salad next time. Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

All I can say is SENSATIONAL. To be honest didn't expect it to be this good. We had a whole duck which was a perfect serving for 2 big eaters and mum. We would pay close to double the price back home in Sydney. Staff were very attentive being able to talk to is in English and made us welcome immediately. The bathroom was spotless and could not fault the dinning area. We will definitely be going back before we go home. A great dinning experience.

Thank Lu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakaoBali, Manager at Makao Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us ! We are glad to know your enjoyed our Duck specialities and hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first stop after arriving to Bali as it was very close to our hotel (Aswana) and we were super hungry. We quickly went through reviews and map and this was the place we decided to visit!I can say it was a good decision!Staff is super polite and helpful, food delicious and as I am mainly vegetarian, I had naan bread with garlic and herbs and vegetable spring rolls with sweet chilly sauce (starter) and for me it was enough, because of hot weather. We sat at turquoise sofa on the patio and it felt like at friends place. We had also peking duck, which was crispy and delicious, with rice and some red sauce (also tasty). I am happy this was the first place I visited :) Thank you team Makao :) Definitely recommended!

Thank 4lex4ndr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakaoBali, Manager at Makao Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience here and Makao Bali and hope to welcome you again very soon :) Wishing you a nice holiday in Bali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makao Bali also viewed

Seminyak, Kuta District
Seminyak, Kuta District
 
Seminyak, Kuta District
Seminyak, Kuta District
 

Been to Makao Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing