We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulful venue”
Review of Field & Fork

Field & Fork
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Field & Fork derives its name from the culinary vision of bringing locally sourced quality produce from the field to your table. Chef and owner Francois du Rand serves these ingredients with a great passion for food and a dash of French flair. Field & Fork is located in Swellendam's heritage area and forms part of the Drostdy Museum. Steeped in history and oozing character, this restaurant brings you modern style bistro food with panache. The menu is small and changes often but caters to all palates. Our wines as our food, are only sourced locally from award-winning wineries. Welcome to the Field & Fork.
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

The historical context gives certainly an added value to this small restaurant. But most of all we loved the genuine friendliness one experiences while dining in this house. The food is fresh and tasteful, the wines well selected.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank huma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2017

We had dinner here again and every time we are amazed by the super friendly and efficient staff, the fantastic menu and the wine list with some very special wines on offer. It's such an enjoyable experience that we plan our travel around supper at Field & Fork.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank 154willyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Set in a lovely old house in Swellendam, apparently one of the oldest there, is this quaint little restaurant. Do not let it fool you that it looks like an old, run down house. You are in for a big surprise! The food there is delicious, and really worth the visit to Swellendam. We had the delicious duck and I went for Dom Pedro for afters. It was a lovely evening. We will visit this nice place again.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Agustina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Great presentation and tasting meal of pork tenderloin with spinach and watercress, and butternut squash purée. Friendly staff. Nice environment.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank Orlamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We had a lovely evening here. We were mischievously welcomed by Paulette and she continued to make our evening a delight. The food was beautifully cooked and presented. If we are in Swellendam again, we wouldn't hesitate to revisit.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank 225janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Field & Fork also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Field & Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.