We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Belle Alliance

La Belle Alliance
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Belle Alliance, a family run restaurant since 1998, is situated on the main road between the Drostdy Museum and the Dutch Reformed Church, on the banks of the Koornlands river.The historical building was formerly a masonic lodge with some symbols still visible on the premises today. The garden terrace offers tranquility and shade under a canopy of White Stinkwood trees and lots of sunshine and blankets on cooler winter days."Specials" include both traditional and international dishes, all freshly home made.La Belle Alliance is renowned for its efficient and friendly service. The venue is child and dog friendly and the ideal spot to enjoy a relaxed breakfast or lunch.Opening hours: Mondays to Sundays: 8am to 5pm.Fully Licensed.Credit cards accepted.Languages spoken: English, Afrikaans, Dutch/Flemish, French and German.Indoor (50 pax) and outdoor(100 pax) seating.Groups welcome.Find us on facebook.GPS longitude: 20'27' EGPS Latitude: 34' 01' S
Glasgow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stop for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stopped off the cuff for lunch and found a great restaurant. Food was excellent and service too. Would recommend this for all occasions.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    92
    30
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had lunch here on Sunday, January 29, and it was a really bad experience. We had been here in November 2010 and decided to have lunch there before checking in at our guesthouse in Swellendam. We arrived at 2.15 pm and did not get our food until after 3.00 pm. We just ordered a club sandwich and sour herring which was on the list of suggestions. The waitress indicated that there was "a problem in the kitchen". Not only did we have to wait a long time but the food was of very poor quality. The herring made me sick for a few days. It is a shame that a restaurant with a very nice garden can not cope with the quality of the food. If this is the new standard, then avoid going there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flamingotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food and very slow service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This restaurant is in a beautiful setting with a beautiful open air dining area with shady trees and umbrellas. Unfortunately the setting was not the lasting memory.

It was lunch time on Sunday and we were passing through Swellendam hoping to have a nice refreshing break. At first everything looked promising: a beautiful setting on a beautiful day and the menu with a tantalizing selection of offerings with names and prices suggesting a gourmet experience. We have two toddlers and there is a little area for kids in the outside section. It all seemed perfect. Sadly reality soon set in.

The play area turned out to be quite dangerous with an unfenced section right at the edge of a cliff overlooking the river - you certainly don't want to let little small children out of your sight anywhere near that area!

The restaurant was not overly busy but there were a number of tables - but only one or two overworked waitresses. They were running around trying to attend to all the guests whilst the owner / manager (as we subsequently found out) sat at one of the tables looking on without making any effort to assist any guests. I personally cleared our table of dirty dishes from the previous guests (this probably should have been the sign to move to a different restaurant).

Our drinks orders took a while to arrive but within tolerable limits. However, more than an hour after placing our food order we decided to enquire as to the expected delivery. We explained that we were passing through and as such would like them to try to speed up the delivery of the food. The owner / manager arrived and his response was something along the lines of "everyone is on there way somewhere".

Finally we resorted to threats and made it clear that unless the food was delivered within five minutes we would pay for our drinks and then leave.

Now you would not expect our meals to take too long in a well run kitchen - we had ordered a salad, a fruit salad, an open sandwich, a toasted sandwich and I ordered the grilled fish with salad.

In any event the food unfortunately did arrive. Pricing and quality are in no way related. My rather expensive grilled fish was terrible. The only decent dish was the fruit salad and ice cream my wife ordered.

My summary: Swellendam is a delightful town to visit but lunch at La Belle Alliance did not contribute positively to our experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hughhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A lovely garden setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We visited the restaurant for lunch on a hot sunny day. The tables are arranged outside under trees which provide welcome shade. The food was excellent and the service good. However, we arrived at a particularly busy time so had to wait for our meal for about 30 minutes. This was not a problem as the food was worth the wait and it was pleasant sitting in the garden listening to the visiting saxophanist and guitarist.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Penbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Nice terrace, friendly owners and the food is fine.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene_van_Gelderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Alliance also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to La Belle Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing