We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Regularly.....Good sushi......good Service”

John Dory's Somerset Mall
Ranked #85 of 136 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Ahoy Me Mateys! Join us at Somerset West John Dory's - the best seafood restaurant that the whole family can enjoy! Our menu has an ocean of choices for all our seafood lovers! From fresh hand-rolled sushi to tempura battered fish & chips. Shiver your timbers! Our catch of the day, prawns, calamari and fresh oysters are a reason to abandon ship and come ashore! Our kids' menu has a variety of yummy meals for our young mateys too and we also have a cool kids' play area with boatloads of fun activities for little sailors! What are you waiting for? Dock your boat at John Dory's in Somerset West for arrr-mazing food and service.
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I visit nearly every week. Service is always good. Sushi is good quality. Sushi bar chef and staff always very friendly

Thank PieterP276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Somerset Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Pieter P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our John Dory's Somerset Mall Fish, Grill & Sushi Restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service as well as our sushi, expertly-rolled by our sushi chefs.

We hope to offer you many more good experiences with us in the future!

Kind regards,
John Dory's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017

Having been regular diners at Ocean Basket for many years now, we decided to try JD for a change. The new location inside the mall is light and airy, and the layout is spacious (unlike OB's ambiance) and the furniture new and clean. The mussels and shrimps starter was quite tasty. Our mains (platter for 1, fish & chips) was OK, angelfish was a bit on the dry side. The (grilled) food was a bit saucy in our opinion, compared to OB's food. The wine pricing is similar to other restaurants. Service was friendly and reasonably fast, no complaints there. We will probably go back to try out the other items on the menu, such as the sushi.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacques l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Somerset Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Jacques l,

Thank you for taking the time to review our John Dory's Somerset Mall Family Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that the food served was not up to standard, we appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further please either call us on 086 053 6797 or email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@johndorys.co.za.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Yes, it is December and yes, the Somerset mall was busy with holiday visitors but waiting times in excess of 45 minutes for sushi was excessive! We were told 30 min max. The sushi at the conveyor belt kept rolling out but none served to the table. 5 of us had sushi and the kids had prawns from the kids menu. The prawns drenched in sauce, which they did not like.

We had to go call the waiter every time we wanted to order something to drink. Service terrible.

The manager passed our table and with a shrug of the shoulders went to investigate why the food took so long. Did not speed up the order unfortunately.

When the sushi arrived on one big plate, we received 2 side plates between 5 of us. We had to ask twice for plates. The waiter was clearly inexperienced and could not care less.

Was it worth the wait, no.

Thank WandavdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Somerset Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear WandavdB,

Thank you for taking the time to review John Dory's Somerset Mall Fish Grill & Sushi restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service we pride ourselves on. We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with both you and the store's management team. Please email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@johndorys.co.za.

Kind regards,
John Dory's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

John Dory is THE name in seafood, but I must say that I was not impressed. The restaurant was busy, but service was rather slow and the waitress did little to advertise the specials or make recommendations. The fries were excellent but prawns were a bit disappointing. Perhaps a less busy season would have allowed for better service.

Thank BevyAbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Somerset Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear BevyAbr,

Thank you for taking the time to review John Dory's Somerset Mall Fish Grill & Sushi restaurant. We are sorry to hear that the service was not up to standard. Your feedback is much appreciated. If you would like us to discuss this further, please forward this on together with your contact details to customer-care@johndorys.co.za and we'll get in touch with you.

Kind regards,
John Dory's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

If you want the freshest and tastiest Sushi go to John Dory at the Somerset West Mall. You will battle to find better.I have no hesitation in recommending John Dory Somerset West Mall.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Somerset Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Frank R,

Thank you for your arrr-mazing review of John Dory's Somerset Mall! Our sushi, expertly-rolled by our sushi chefs- thrilled you enjoyed it!

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Dory's Somerset Mall also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to John Dory's Somerset Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing