We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Espetada's in South Africa”
Review of Montecello

Montecello
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 October 2018

If you like Espetada's or Prawns, this is the place to go!
It is definitely worth the drive from George or from Knysna.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wander38920523241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

There are not many restaurants, that you have to book for a Monday evening, so that for me tells it all. My family love this restaurant and is a must do evening when they come from the UK to stay with us. Not only the Espetada, but the wonderful welcome and service everyone receives from Anita and her team. Even if you are just passing through Sedgefield drop in for a meal you will not be disappointed

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

My husband always goes to Montecello when he is in the Garden Route for paragliding.
I would always hear about this place making Espetada's to die for. So in October I had the opportunity to go & try it for myself. My first thought was "How am I going to eat this massive amount of meat....."?! But once I tasted the meat, it was tickets with "doggy bag"! The meat was super tender & succulent, it melts in your mouth...... Go & try it for yourself.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoreyMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting Montecello for years. The food is great. We always succumb to the delicious espetada, even though we keep saying we will try something else. Service is friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The food was delicious as always! I had the fillet special with pepper sauce, and would definitely recommend it. Everybody else’s meals were enjoyed too

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MarieAnneM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montecello also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Montecello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing