We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small taste of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Robertson, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RuiFV
Fremantle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small taste of heaven”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Headed from CT with my other half we spent 2 nights on this amazing cottage .

Surrounded by vineyards and mountains on the background this cottage is a beauty. Lots of sun light , beautifully decorated, Amazing shower with views and a Victorian bath tub for a delightful sunset bath with a glass of wine.
The back patio with a braai and a nice sitting area sets for a beautiful afternoon sitting and relaxing , sipping on a beer or wine while meat is sizzling on the Braai.


Lots of places to go in the surrounding areas makes it a perfect place to spend a few days away from the crowd.

A must go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely, detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Warmest regards
Jane and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A luxurious cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is one of the most stylish cottages we have stayed in. It is beautifully decorated and the light streams in from all sides! Wonderful to be inside, or on the veranda...with beautiful views all around! There is nothing lacking and our stay was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving the cottage in an immaculate condition.We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Jane and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainm...
Seattle, USA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Not just good - GREAT!”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We feel so fortunate to have selected Klaasvoogds Cottage for our three night stay. From the first time we communicated with Jane we knew we made the right decision. She is an excellent host how did everything possible to make our stay memorable. The pictures of the cottage understated how nice it was. It was spacious, located on a quiet vineyard area with stunning views. The cottage had a large living area, a nice and functional kitchen, a good patio and braii, nice bathroom with a view, and comfy bed. I would be hard pressed to provide anything to make it more excellent than it was. We are so happy that we opted to stay outside of Robertson. Jane has a wealth of information and was helpful in booking dinners which you should do in advance as the good eateries can be difficult to get in. As mentioned to Jane - "we will return".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you so much. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGEKent
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage with picturesque surroundings”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Klaasvoogds Cottage is situated about 8km outside Robertson, a short distance into the Kranskop vineyard. The cottage is ideally suited to a couple, with a pleasant open-plan living/dining room, bedroom, bathroom and shower room/toilet and a lovely covered stoep at the back. Air-con is provided in the living area and it cools down the bedroom if the door is left open. The bathroom/toilet arrangement takes some getting used to, as the two are interconnecting, with separate doors to the living room and bedroom. Opening the blue shutters in the living area floods the space with light; leaving them closed helps to cool the room down. We appreciated the copies in oils hanging on the cottage walls of 20th century classics, and particularly Modigliani’s Little Girl in Blue in the bathroom. DSTV is provided but there’s no WiFi. Our own WiFi dongle worked fine, but it’s best to purchase a SIM card locally to avoid exorbitant roaming charges ($0.75 per Mb!). A washing machine is provided in the kitchen. Although the cottage seemed a bit exposed at times, with a fair amount of foot traffic going up and down the adjacent road, there didn’t seem to be any immediate security issue. A safe is provided for valuables. We did keep the front door locked, even when out on the stoep during the day, just to be on the safe side. Wine tasting at Kranskop, just a short walk up the road, is a must, and, if you’re lucky, the owners may offer to prepare you a delicious spread of bread, cheeses, olives, tapenade and salad. Decent restaurants in Robertson are thin on the ground, but good food is to be had at The Small Hotel, the recently opened Four Cousins, the nearby Rosendal guesthouse, and, a little further afield, at Karoux, Flora’s and Tebaldi’s in McGregor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for the thoughtful and positive review. We're sure its it's an oversight but Fraai Uitzicht, 800 m from the cottage, is a BBC featured, award-winning restaurant which has gorgeous food, Mo & Rose, 3 km away, we think, has good food with many positive reviews and Christinas at Van Loveren wine farm has a beautiful setting and wonderful food. The foot traffic on the farm road is mainly farm workers visiting friends during the holiday period. . We leave furniture out on the open porch all year around and nothing has been stolen. In addition in the eight years we have had the farm we have not had one single incident.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrismeir...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunshine in the vineyards!”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A glorious 3 days were spent in this well appointed, luxurious cute cottage. Jane Barnards spotlessly clean light and airy abode is set right between the vines with spectacular views. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and the location is gorgeous, although out of town there is plenty of interesting places to visit in the area. We will be back, to enjoy some more of this sunshine!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your next visit.
Charles and Jane Barnard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing