We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Onse Rus Guest House
Ranked #5 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holystone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 March 2009

This is one place that you must stay! The welcome is as warm as you could possibly wish, the accommodation is first class - and fascinating, the breakfast is as good as you can possibly expect. We only stayed for one night but we will be back - and back - and back!! Lisa sent us some superb directions for us to drive from Boulders Beach to Prince Albert (via the Swartburg Pass). Lisa pointed us to a wonderful and very reasonably priced eating place for our evening meal. The whole experience based around Onse Rus was DELIGHTFUL. You must not miss staying at Onse Rus!! Please go there as soon and as often as you can!! It really is that good!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamboosNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
63
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We had a three day stay in this lovely guesthouse and the time spent was more than worth it. This is a traditional, listed Karoo house with thatched roof and wooden floors. The place is kept spotless and you are instantly made welcome by Lisa or Di, her mother, who provide you with delicious home made cake on arrival and every afternoon. There is a tranquil garden with shady seating and a refreshingly deep and cool small pool - important as it can get very hot in the Klein Karoo in the summer months.

There are some great eateries in this lovely little town and I would particularly recommend The Gallery, The Karoo Kombuis and , if it is open, (ask Lisa to book) The Olive Branch where you will get a true gourmet experience for about £12 a head.
There is lots to do in the area, besides a trip up/down the Swartburg Pass ( unsealed road - take care). See if Lisa can book the resident story-teller, Ailsa Tudhope to come to the Guesthouse to entertain you with her fascinating stories. Lisa may also be able to book you in for a morning at John Begg's farm where a real enthusiast will tell you all about the local bushmen, show you artifacts collected by him and his wife and take you on a scramble up a nearby gorge to show you the bushman paintings he has discovered.

Above all be sure to stay more than one night at this excellent guesthouse or you will live to regret it.

  • Liked — The rooms, the garden, the ownerOne
  • Disliked — One of the gardeners seemed to be having a hard time of it
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pejayHolmfirthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington U.K
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We stayed only one night in Prince Albert at Onse Rus and I only wish we had planned to stay longer as it was so peaceful and homely.

We drove over the Swartberg pass, which was the main reason why we stayed in Prince Albert, but we both fell in love with the place immediately. We arrived on a Saturday but it was so peaceful you could have stood in the middle of the road without any fear of being run down by a car.

We were welcomed by a really lovely lady called Di with a slice of home made orange cake and a pot of tea which was most welcome after the hot drive over the Swartberg mountains. I follwed this with a swim in the pool - wonderful!

The room was amazing - so authentic, clean and comfortable. The hospitality was warm and welcoming. There are plenty of places to eat in the evening and the breakfast at Onse Rus was really special with home made yogurt, fresh fruit and fruit juice in addition to the full hot breakfast.

The Karoo was my favourite area and when I return to SA I will most definately return to Prince Albert and Onse Rus.

  • Liked — Comfort, Setting, Welcome, authentic building and beautiful scenery.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We found this lovely guest house through Trip Advisor and made a reservation in advance for our two nights in Price Albert. After a long journey from Addo we were warmly welcomed by our host Lisa. She organised dinner for us on both nights, and also recommended a cafe for lunch - all of which were excellent. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The garden was very peaceful and great for relaxing by the small pool, with the company of the dogs, cats and chickens! Breakfast al fresco was fresh and plentiful, and the chocolate cake for afternoon tea was delicious.

  • Liked — Friendly relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helenb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

We stayed one night at this B&B on our way to Capetown. The drive over the Swartsbergpass was amazing!
The B&B is on the main road, but has a nice garden behind the house, so you feel like you're isolated, which is nice!
The room was lovely, clean and cozy. The owners were nice and there was lemonade and chocolate cake when we checked in. The pool and the garden are really nice to relax, as we did.
We would definitly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pleuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.2 km away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.7 km away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
219 reviews
0.4 km away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
128 reviews
1.0 km away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
1.2 km away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onse Rus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onse Rus Guest House

Property: Onse Rus Guest House
Address: 47 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Onse Rus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will immediately feel at home as you slow down to the relaxed pace of country life and take time to experience simple beauty, the attention to detail, the small unexplained things, the dogs the cat the ducks and the horses - the odd shaped rooms - the garden with quirky stone men - the warm and inviting lounge leading onto a large shaded garden with swimming pool, bedrooms with French doors and shutters opening into the garden - the harshness of the Karoo that gives you grace in the evening and gentleness in the morning. Our guest accommodation and facilities are separate from our own, affording our guests a level of privacy not normally associated with a guesthouse. We accept credit cards (Visa and MasterCard only) and guests are most welcome to use the Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Onse Rus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing