We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
151
84
25
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
84
25
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calamari portuguese steak sea view sardines an institution cape town kingklip enjoy the view cape point fantastic location minute drive peak bay terrace world chapman sundowners
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night for business/social reasons, lovely outside area for a drink while the sun goes down, and a very friendly quick check in.
Good wifi, comfortable room with outside area. Clear communication in the bathroom about how to save water given Cape Town's current drought problems.

Only gripe would be that breakfast only starts at 0730, and room service only runs 1200-2100. I had to leave the hotel at around 0700, so couldn't get the breakfast that I was already paying for. Surely starting breakfast at 6 or 630 is standard in most hotels? The reception staff at that time were unable to process a credit card for the final bill, which was also a bit surprising- do email the bill to me if you still want to get paid!
Good hotel aside from this however.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Our second stay at the Hotel. Rooms are up to standard but overall offering does not justify the four star pricing. Restaurant still very busy but must be on an old reputation / loyalty as the food was mediocre - (and overpriced compared to superior local competition) burnt sardines for starters and tough kingklip for mains.
Pool was half full (due to water restrictions I assumed) but I noticed later a notice saying it was salt water. I mentioned at reception that there was a plentiful supply on the doorstep!
Sorry won't be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Glassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Spent a week at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The location is wonderful - right next to the beginning of Chapmans Peak Drive with lots of nice eateries and bars all within walking distance and the hotel itself overlooking Hout Bay beach. The view from the pool is stunning. The food was good - plenty to choose from at breakfast and the restaurant was always packed - particularly at weekends, with lots of people not staying at the hotel dining there too. We dined there a couple of times and the food was nice and portions were big.

The hotel staff are what really made our stay extra special. In particular Abigail from Reception who was so friendly and helpful and always had a huge smile on her face. Also the older lady serving the breakfast is also another to mention - always happy and smiling.

Secure gated parking for guests. Wifi was good and reliable.

Thoroughly recommended hotel. Would definitely consider staying there again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely spot. The pool area is delightful protected from the wind and with stunning views across the bay. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel and enjoyed friendly service, good fish and helpful wine advice. The restaurant was busy with lots of non residents eating there which seems a good sign. We drove along Chapman's Peak Drive and to Cape Point which was well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights in this lovely hotel. Had a spacious room with a small terrace, overlooking the beach.
Great bar and restaurant, popular with locals as well as tourists.
Wide selection of quality wines, reasonably priced.
Parking on site, free. Pool and terrace with lovely views of the bay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Beeteeyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews