We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
28
40
7
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
40
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table mountain birds chirping rosewood cottage double bedroom cape town location is ideal excellent place to stay stayed here for nights minute drive cape point each morning swimming pool home away from home springbok constantia woolworths properties
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We travelled from London to stay with friends who have a cottage here. The setting in the hills above Cape Town is pure magic and the views just extraordinary.
The 27 Cottages are set in a private estate with 24 hour security and all the services the owners need including rentals.
We went to a great selection of restaurants around the countryside and of course to the well known tourist sites.
Our hosts bought the Cottage to get away from the non stop rain and cold of the UK winter and we were in total agreement and hope to get invited!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Y8707YBdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This was our second stay at Houtkapperspoort and we were once again not disappointed. We stayed in a 3-bedroom cottage (3rd bedroom is in the loft) and it was perfect for our family. Our 2 teens each had their own space, which was great. The cottages and grounds are very well kept and the pool is lovely. The location is perfect for taking the hiking route up the side of Table Mountain. It is also only a short drive to Constantia, or to Hout Bay on the other side. The only negative was that our cottage didn't have wifi, you had to go to the office area for internet. But that is apparently being taken care of and will be available in future. We'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Celia_Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Our second stay at this property, although in a different cottage. Ideally situated for access to both Hout Bay Harbour and Constantia winelands, these self catering units are privately owned and furnished, but managed by the estate on which they are situated; there are thus variations in how they are equipped and finished, but overall the standard is above average for self catering, and the cottages are serviced on a daily basis. Another plus is the 24hr security manning the entrance to the estate and patrolling after hours.
What might have been a nightmare for us, was rescued by the management: on our first night, we experienced a plumbing disaster due to a failure of the coupling between the hot water pipe and the kitchen sink mixer, resulting in extensive flooding due to us not knowing where the stopcock was located. The upshot of this was that we had to move to a different cottage while emergency repairs were undertaken, and then move back to the original for our last night. However, this was all dealt with to our satisfaction, and although it caused some disruption to our plans, we would gladly return at a later date.
Although it is probably best to have a hired car, the open top tourist bus stops fairly close by if you don't want to drive, but your options would be limited as far as destinations go.

Room tip: Ideally, try to get a cottage on the side furthest from the main road, which can get busy.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gav_eva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was the highlight of our stay in South Africa. Next time we will stay a week.
The accommodation was lovely. Amazing views. The rooms were incredible with lovely linen. What ever you could want in a self catering unit they have, even a picnic basket.
Ice brick in freezer. Two BBQ if wind blows one in front and one at back door.
The grounds are incredible there is not a blade of grass out of place. Very quiet and peaceful.

Room tip: It is all lovely
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgOnOw-7, Cottage owner at Houtkapperspoort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for choosing our cottage #20. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay .
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Houtkapperspoort is a delightful quiet place up the mountains between Constantia Nek and Hout Bay, surrounded by beautiful trees on the side slopes of Table Mountain. Breathing in fresh air from the trees all day and night is a real treat away from pollution. Close proximity to all major areas in Cape Town is a big plus point. The rooms seem to all be facing slightly privately way from each other, which is great. The grounds, with flowering hydrangeas bushes, are very well kept, whilst springboks and squirrels roam and scamper on the well manicured lawns. Room service is excellent. What was interesting is that we had a four bed roomed cottage and one bathroom with loo whilst my brother had a one bed roomed cottage with two bathrooms and two loos! Also that garden cushions could be supplied, for the outdoor wooden chairs and with an outdoor table cloth for the cement table. Of course this should be under strict condition that they are brought inside when not used or CT has inclement weather. However, we would happily stay there again and already look forward to our next time in Cape Town. "

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank GenieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews