We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
28
40
7
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
40
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering table mountain rosewood cottage double bedroom cape town location is ideal excellent place to stay surrounded by mountains minute drive two nights cape point each morning swimming pool home away from home springbok constantia wifi
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Houtkapperspoort is a delightful quiet place up the mountains between Constantia Nek and Hout Bay, surrounded by beautiful trees on the side slopes of Table Mountain. Breathing in fresh air from the trees all day and night is a real treat away from pollution. Close proximity to all major areas in Cape Town is a big plus point. The rooms seem to all be facing slightly privately way from each other, which is great. The grounds, with flowering hydrangeas bushes, are very well kept, whilst springboks and squirrels roam and scamper on the well manicured lawns. Room service is excellent. What was interesting is that we had a four bed roomed cottage and one bathroom with loo whilst my brother had a one bed roomed cottage with two bathrooms and two loos! Also that garden cushions could be supplied, for the outdoor wooden chairs and with an outdoor table cloth for the cement table. Of course this should be under strict condition that they are brought inside when not used or CT has inclement weather. However, we would happily stay there again and already look forward to our next time in Cape Town. "

Stayed: December 2016
Thank GenieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Wonderful place to stay for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding country side. These are self catering lodges set in beautifully maintained gardens just outside Houts Bay and near Constansia Nek. We enjoyed the peaceful tranquility of this place after the hurly-burly of our daily explorations. Close to many tourist attraction i.e. Kirstanbosch, Table Mountain, False Bay, Cape point, Stellenbosch, Franshhoek and many more.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heiko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Good accommodation for the price, although as each cottage is individually owned you must do a bit of research to pick the interior that best suits your taste.

Love the springbok and the ease of travel between Hout Bay and Constantia. Either beautiful views back over Hout Bay- although the sea can't be seen.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank DavidC20122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We have stayed here on many occasions in the past and been really happy, but this time we stayed in cottage #2 which was poorly maintained - badly furnished and a little dirty. The fridge was not turned up and was very smelly inside. The gardens and still great with stunning views of the mountains but I will definitely make sure I do not stay in cottage #2 again.

Room Tip: Stay away from #2 until its been upgraded and cleaned
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

If you are looking for a family place to stay,
Houtkapperspoort is a great place. Range of self catering cottages, good setting with a small herd of springboek to help keep the grass trimmed. Generally a well maintained site, quiet, cleaning each day of properties, security on site 24 hours, range of excellent eating places and vineyards ( wine tasting ) close by. If you don't need the offered guide book don't take it. They will charge you £20 if you forget to return the guide book.

Room Tip: If you need WiFi , choose a cottage very close to the office. Otherwise you will struggle for a signal.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mnb10477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews