We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!!!!!”
Review of Houtkapperspoort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Houtkapperspoort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was the highlight of our stay in South Africa. Next time we will stay a week.
The accommodation was lovely. Amazing views. The rooms were incredible with lovely linen. What ever you could want in a self catering unit they have, even a picnic basket.
Ice brick in freezer. Two BBQ if wind blows one in front and one at back door.
The grounds are incredible there is not a blade of grass out of place. Very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: It is all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgOnOw-7, Cottage owner at Houtkapperspoort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for choosing our cottage #20. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay .
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Houtkapperspoort is a delightful quiet place up the mountains between Constantia Nek and Hout Bay, surrounded by beautiful trees on the side slopes of Table Mountain. Breathing in fresh air from the trees all day and night is a real treat away from pollution. Close proximity to all major areas in Cape Town is a big plus point. The rooms seem to all be facing slightly privately way from each other, which is great. The grounds, with flowering hydrangeas bushes, are very well kept, whilst springboks and squirrels roam and scamper on the well manicured lawns. Room service is excellent. What was interesting is that we had a four bed roomed cottage and one bathroom with loo whilst my brother had a one bed roomed cottage with two bathrooms and two loos! Also that garden cushions could be supplied, for the outdoor wooden chairs and with an outdoor table cloth for the cement table. Of course this should be under strict condition that they are brought inside when not used or CT has inclement weather. However, we would happily stay there again and already look forward to our next time in Cape Town. "

Stayed: December 2016
Thank GenieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Wonderful place to stay for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding country side. These are self catering lodges set in beautifully maintained gardens just outside Houts Bay and near Constansia Nek. We enjoyed the peaceful tranquility of this place after the hurly-burly of our daily explorations. Close to many tourist attraction i.e. Kirstanbosch, Table Mountain, False Bay, Cape point, Stellenbosch, Franshhoek and many more.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heiko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Good accommodation for the price, although as each cottage is individually owned you must do a bit of research to pick the interior that best suits your taste.

Love the springbok and the ease of travel between Hout Bay and Constantia. Either beautiful views back over Hout Bay- although the sea can't be seen.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We have stayed here on many occasions in the past and been really happy, but this time we stayed in cottage #2 which was poorly maintained - badly furnished and a little dirty. The fridge was not turned up and was very smelly inside. The gardens and still great with stunning views of the mountains but I will definitely make sure I do not stay in cottage #2 again.

Room Tip: Stay away from #2 until its been upgraded and cleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
4.6 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3 km away
Victorskloof Lodge
Victorskloof Lodge
#2 of 24 in Hout Bay
27 reviews
6.1 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
578 reviews
4.8 km away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#24 of 59 in Hout Bay
58 reviews
4.2 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houtkapperspoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houtkapperspoort

Address: 170 Hout Bay Main Road | Constantia Nek Estate, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Hout Bay
Price Range: €69 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houtkapperspoort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner Best Self Catering Resort in S.A (2003, 2004 and 2005); Hall of Fame for 2006 and 2007; Facilities include 24-hour security control, tennis court, swimming pool, children's play area, Wi-Fi, DSTV, laundry service and magnificent mountain paths. The resort accommodation is the highest standard of its type in Cape Town and the tariff offers remarkable value for money. The discreetly serviced, fully equipped and superbly appointed cottages are set in spacious, meticulously landscaped grounds. Perfect for short and long stays, for business, conferences, and vacations, for singles, couples or the whole family. Shuttle golf cart available for collection and delivery of guest to and from cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Houtkapperspoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing