We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
624
77
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
77
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house homemade bread perfect hosts granola the main road lovely pool area excellent breakfast within easy walking distance attention to detail ryan's kitchen no hesitation in recommending trout dinner reservations great place to stay rooms are lovely quiet street comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We had three nights here during our three week visit to South Africa.
Our room was luxurious with a large marble bathroom.
This was by far the best place we stayed & great value for money!
It was basically all the special touches which added up & made this place stand out from the rest. One example was everyone around the pool were served ice creams in the afternoon by John.
The guys that run Ashbourne are very friendly and extremely helpful.
They arranged our transfers and a great wine tour with Cheryl.
All the suggested restaurants for lunches and dinners were spot on, exactly to our tastes.
Breakfasts were excellent, strawberries, croissant & excellent freshly cooked options to follow; it was the only place that served us freshly squeezed orange juice!
We cannot recommend highly enough.
Thank you, Stephanie and Joe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

John and Russell gave us a very warm welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them. The accommodation is first class, very comfortable and spacious with many small touches that really make the difference. The breakfast was extremely tasty and the whole experience was first class. Ashbourne House is conveniently located to explore both Franschhoek and also the surrounding area so well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end by the pool, which was excellent
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arliatna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Ashbourne House is such a delightful place to stay. Sadly we only had two nights there but would hapily stay for longer next time.

John and Russell are welcoming and so knowledgeable about the area enabling you to make the most of your time in the pretty little town of Franschoek. The room was decorated to a very high standard with lovely bedlinen and great bathroom- they would not be out of place in a five star hotel.
Breakfats was cooked to order and lots of things home made - delicious.

It really is a misnomer that it is a B&B - very convenient for a liesurly stroll to the restaurants and shops in but in a quiet spot.

We would have no hesitation to recommend Ashbourne House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I freely admit to being a returnee to this delightful guest house which combines high quality accommodation with a warm welcome from John, Russell and their friendly staff. A combination of tasteful furnishing and decoration and tasty breakfasts ensure that we shall make further return trips to this lovely spot which oiffers seclusion and convenience to the lovely town.

Room Tip: The rooms in the house are more private and therefore preferable to those around the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thudjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Many small inns have their quirks but you stay in them because you don't want the austerity of a big hotel chain. Ashbourne, however, has managed to get the best of both worlds: the intimacy of a small inn with the consistency you would expect at a large hotel. The rooms are perfect. Our bathroom, in particular, was beautiful. The breakfast options are all delicious. The omelets, home-made seed bread, and home-made muesli had me wanting more! Finally, the most importing thing... listen to Russell. Every morning he came over to our table and asked what was on our agenda for the day. He made superb suggestions. He brought out a map, highlighted where to go, how to get there, and then called and made arrangements. There were some places we had heard about that we wanted to go to. He then worked his recommendations around those. (It is worth noting that when we veered from his suggestions we were invariable disappointed.) His enthusiasm for the beauty of the region is infectious. This alone makes Ashbourne worthwhile. Add to that professionalism, courtesy, and a superior staff and I can't imagine a better experience. Go, eat, drink, and listen to Russell!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews