We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
621
77
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
77
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house homemade bread perfect hosts granola the main road lovely pool area excellent breakfast within easy walking distance attention to detail ryan's kitchen no hesitation in recommending trout dinner reservations great place to stay rooms are lovely quiet street comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Ashbourne House is the sort of place you always hope to find when on holiday.
Immaculate rooms, friendly ambiance and perfect facilities (private pool, computer etc) made for a very relaxing holiday.
Russell was an unbelievable host who would do anything to help you and we really appreciate his assistance in everything.
The breakfasts are outstanding - make sure you try the most delicious muesli!

Room Tip: every room is different, so whether you like a balcony, poolside or easy access you cannot go wrong!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VillaYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were here for two nights in late March and would recommend to others (especially singles - we were a couple but there were a number of single guests staying at the same time as us and it was very clear this was a comfortable and helpful place to be!).

We wanted to stay in the Treetops room but sadly it was booked - it did look like it would have amazing views but our ground floor room was spacious and very comfortable. Lovely bathrooms as everyone has said!! The only thing we would say is because we were next to the dining room we could hear preparation going on quite early.

Russell was a treasure - extremely helpful with local information and the breakfast was a treat. Overall - recommend!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great location in Franschhoek but most of all fantastic service from Russell at breakfast. If you need help planning your day you will get the best out of it with help from Russell & John. We're already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickepia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Located within easy walking distance of the main road and all the shops and a short drive from more vineyards than you can shake a stick at, Ashbourne House is quiet, elegant and comfortable - if possibly a little fussy in decoration and style.
The pool area is shady and quiet and it's worth going for a room there. Breakfast, as we found nearly everywhere on our trip, is a tour de force. Russel always seems to be able to ask just one more question about how you'd like your eggs - fried/boiled/poached - easy over/hard/soft - sunny side up... etc. You won't go hungry, nor will you go short on sound advice on where and what to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are very convenient for dipping in and out and just chillaxing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had a fantastic holiday in Franschhoek and stayed in Ashbourne guest house which was the most friendly and helpfull guest house. The accommodation was to a very high standard, comfortable and reasonably priced, The hosts were very welcoming and had a extensive knowledge of the area. They did plan my daily Itenary and it was just fantastic.
I do really recommend this guest house to anyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g_deveci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews