We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
649
78
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
78
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house homemade bread perfect hosts granola the main road lovely pool area book restaurants excellent breakfast great place to stay within easy walking distance attention to detail trout quiet location dinner reservations no hesitation in recommending restaurant bookings short walk
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Ashbourne House is the sort of place you always hope to find when on holiday.
Immaculate rooms, friendly ambiance and perfect facilities (private pool, computer etc) made for a very relaxing holiday.
Russell was an unbelievable host who would do anything to help you and we really appreciate his assistance in everything.
The breakfasts are outstanding - make sure you try the most delicious muesli!

Room tip: every room is different, so whether you like a balcony, poolside or easy access you cannot go wrong!
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VillaYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were here for two nights in late March and would recommend to others (especially singles - we were a couple but there were a number of single guests staying at the same time as us and it was very clear this was a comfortable and helpful place to be!).

We wanted to stay in the Treetops room but sadly it was booked - it did look like it would have amazing views but our ground floor room was spacious and very comfortable. Lovely bathrooms as everyone has said!! The only thing we would say is because we were next to the dining room we could hear preparation going on quite early.

Russell was a treasure - extremely helpful with local information and the breakfast was a treat. Overall - recommend!

Date of stay: March 2012
Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great location in Franschhoek but most of all fantastic service from Russell at breakfast. If you need help planning your day you will get the best out of it with help from Russell & John. We're already planning our next stay.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickepia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had a fantastic holiday in Franschhoek and stayed in Ashbourne guest house which was the most friendly and helpfull guest house. The accommodation was to a very high standard, comfortable and reasonably priced, The hosts were very welcoming and had a extensive knowledge of the area. They did plan my daily Itenary and it was just fantastic.
I do really recommend this guest house to anyone!!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g_deveci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

A beautiful guest house surrounded by a stunning backdrop of mountains. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and is presented to a very high standard. The pool area was very relaxing and an excellent place to sit and reflect on the day. The hosts John and Russell are very welcoming and were only too wiling to assist in any way they could. Their knowledge of the area was invaluable and certainly ensured that we got the most out of our time in South Africa. I would have no hesitation in recommending the guest house to anyone and will certainly be making a return visit. A big thank you John & Russell for everything.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews