We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
232
115
26
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
115
26
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared balcony complimentary port the main street guest house swimming pool pretty courtyard cooked breakfast family room shops and restaurants wine tram honesty bar comfortable bed laundry service few minutes walk stayed one night sitting area perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We had the room over looking the pool area, which was clean and tidy, although the pool looked rather grubby on bottom. The room had WiFi, this was so bad you couldn’t download anything but text if you were lucky, which stopped you from looking at maps, restaurant details, almost everything, very poor indeed. The breakfast was varied, but help yourself, including tea, coffee etc. The food in general was set up but not presented nicely, the cooked breakfast was half a tomato, to rashers of streaky bacon and a tablespoon of beans and mushrooms, no sausage, eggs were available but if you couldn’t have them, no extra tomato was offered! The local area information was hard to come by from the staff. Bed was comfortable and an empty fridge was provided for your use, however, no complimentary water for the room.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank worldtravellers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us! The wi-fi signal here in Franschhoek can be problematic at times, however we do have service providers who are on stand by for technical problems.

We are surprised to read about your feedback on our breakfast. Most of our reviews refer to a great breakfast. If you do not eat eggs and would prefer a double portion of bacon, mushrooms, tomato and toast, we would gladly provide this for you!

Our Management staff take great pride in going through local maps of the village with our guests, highlighting our favourite restaurants and activities. There is an additional information folder in each room with what to see and do in our beautiful valley.

Your comments concerning complimentary water has been noted and we have implemented complimentary bottled water service to our rooms, thank you!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Lovely guest house in excellent location. Family of five. We had 2 good rooms which were spacious and beds extremely comfortable. Secure parking. Breakfast was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bryannas2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Thank you to Chris and his team for a most enjoyable stay. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived and even though it was 10am they didn't mind us leaving our luggage until we checked in 4pm.

The pool was perfect and tranquil and the breakfast lovely. We enjoyed our massive room and air conditioning to combat the 35degree heat.

Highly recommended and certainly just as good as certain boutique hotels nearby and half the price!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AndreD3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us! Our hope is that you will return again someday soon!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Quite in the center or the town, that you can walk end to end, and just in front of one of the best restaurants. Comfy bed and shower, very good breakfast and, best of all, top friendly service. Thank you Miss Sharon.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Unfortunately we stayed only one night. here. It was the perfect choice for us. Located quiet but central. Friendly personel. Good breakfast. Nice chairs and beds in the garden. Price to quality relation absolutely okay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefanvr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avondroodguesthouse, General Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this great review!

Kind regards,

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews