We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,313)
Filter reviews
1,313 results
Traveller rating
1,272
35
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,272
35
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mobile phone attention to detail free laundry service uitsig room plunge pool sun cream muesli thought of everything the main house fruit platter guest house private garden the main street free mini bar south africa little extras his team
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,313 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A collection of about 10 rooms, which are actually suites or small flats in reality......stylishly designed & furnished. Wood fires everywhere ( should you wish ), Board games in the Orangery, which doubled up as breakfast room & early evening drinks ( late night too if you wanted a night cap ). Pétanque for a light hearted game, & bi-cycles if you wanted to get around town. We only stayed 2 nights & didn’t really use the hotel as much as we should......3 nights next time .

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Gazza415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gazza415, thanks for the lovely review and 3 nights the next time would be great - you would be made very welcome! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In all respects, Akademie Street Boutique Hotel exceeds the highest of expectations. Declan is a fabulous host. He is a font of knowledge about wineries, car hire, restaurants and any information needed to make your stay very memorable.
The rooms are amazing with every convenience you need. We can very confidently recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: They are all great.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hettie12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi hettie12014, Thank you so much for such a kind & generous review. It is so lovely to hear when our guests really enjoyed their time with us and we hope you'll make it back some time! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This charming Cape Dutch original house converted into a chic hotel is situated exactly where you want to stay in Franschhoek.. you can walk everywhere! We actually used their fabulous bikes and biked around the village. I swam every day in the pool and loved the hot jacuzzi attached to the pool . Breakfast is divine and the hotel is famous for it. The decorating is brave fun and very chic .. find by one of SA top decorators .. I loved it ! The staff are wonderful . It was a very special few days !

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Serena C, thank you for your lovely review and we are thrilled that you loved your few 'special' days at Akademie Street and everything it has to offer. Hopefully, we'll see you both back soon! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer. Everyone is personalable and excel in customer service. The rooms are appointed extremely well. They have everything you could possibly need, want and more. The food outstanding. Loved happy hour in front of the fireplace. All creature comforts were accounted for! We hope to return one day.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank binkley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi binkley007, thanks for taking the time to pen such a kind & generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and hopefully, we'll see you back some day! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The only regret I have, is that we didn’t stay long enough. The hotel is absolutely adorable and I’m soo sad we only were there for one night. Declan and his team are amazing and the decor alone is worth the visit. Close walk to everything in Franshoek! Can’t wait to visit again!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shannonkiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Shannon K, Thank you for such kind words! Well, it looks like there is only one solution - come again & stay longer!! You will be made very welcome in deed! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews