We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
699
161
37
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
161
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monneaux restaurant villa suite country house complimentary shuttle service water features hotel restaurant cape town our honeymoon beautiful hotel large bedroom south africa stayed longer eggs benedict heated floors two nights wine country travel agent
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Without a doubt one of the most beautiful 5 star hotels I have ever been to! Definitely coming back! The rooms are just stunning, the view is spectacular into the vineyards, the staff are so professional and friendly and the food was stunning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessah121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCHMngmnt, General Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your very kind compliment on the hotel as we look forward to your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights at Franschhoek coutnry house and villas. The rooms are nice and spacious and the staff is very friendly. The pool area is great and they provide one with free water and a very generous snack and sparkling wine when one arrives. I loved the bikes to bike into town, a great adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amaya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCHMngmnt, General Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and provide us with the positive feedback, we value your comments and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Woke up this morning with absolutely no hot water at all. Here celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary have a great day planned then have to run around between different rooms jsut to get a shower. Sometimes things happen that you don’t expext but when there is a lack of urgency to resolve the issue this just compounds frustration.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCHMngmnt, General Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced the first morning of your stay. We invest heavily in the maintenance checks of our rooms as well as precautionary servicing to ensure equipment does not break down but but as mentioned by you, as in any establishment, sometimes this can happen unexpectedly and unavoidably.

As we could not repair the problem whilst you were in the room we immediately offered you an alternative room to shower and respectfully disagree that there was no urgency in the matter. There was simply no faster way to attend to the problem and once you left for the day we repaired the faulty unit immediately.

Whilst we empathise with your frustration on the morning it is regrettable that you chose to write a review straight away on the morning of the incident rather than reviewing your overall experience at the end of your three night stay - especially since we take note of your positive comment card completed on departure and that you marked the accommodation as excellent and that you were satisfied that management was available and attentive to your requests.

In addition to providing you with a complimentary upgrade to a suite we trust that you enjoyed the bottle of wine sent to your room on the same day to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Regrettably we do not always have control over unforeseen equipment breakdown and value the opportunity to correct it with our guests and ensure the rest of their stay is special

Once again our sincere apology, we thank you for your support and do hope to impress you on your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

here two nights - would have loved more. Staff very friendly and welcoming, little touches such as free drinks, turn down service with chocolates, well stocked mini bar and lovely toiletries were delightful. Food was excellent and the shuttle service to town very prompt. Pool and lounging area very pretty with lemon iced drinks and towels plentiful.
Tram passes by the rear of the hotel.
Tram an excellent idea to save on driving (to enjoy tasting!). Be aware to book the tram the day before if possible and also do some research on the vineyards - they are not all the same. We unfortunately arrived at the tram at 10.30am to be told not any availability until 12.00 - no problem plenty of places to have a nice drink and look at the galleries. There are several different tram routes with up to 7 stops (each an hour long) so need to decide where you want to visit/eat/taste in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCHMngmnt, General Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We appreciate your feedback and positive comments your stay and the restaurant as we hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed for three nights and I could have stayed longer. The room was so spacious and comfortable. The staff welcoming and keen that we had a pleasant stay, which we certainly did. The scenery around the hotel. Is beautiful. We went on the wine tram and had a fun day. The tram runs just behind the hotel.
We ate at the restaurant and had the chefs wine paired menu which was quite delicious. So delicious that we went back again the night before we left. Would highly recommend this hotel and I hope we get the opportunity to stay here again. Everything was a delight, right down to the box of chocolates left on our pillow on our final nights stay. Thank you all.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCHMngmnt, General Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for kind comments on hotel and the restaurant as it has been our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews