We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
441
86
36
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
86
36
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting room tasting menu the main street south africa cape town garden suite middle of town wine country fine dining world class beautiful hotel little touches granola boutique hotel mini bar stayed two nights glass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The staff were exemplary, knowledgeable and welcoming. Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and The Tasting Room for dinner was a highlight of my overall South African experience. It's obviously expensive, but worth treating yourself.

We hired a taxi for the day for a wine tasting tour: Carla was brilliant and everyone should hire her cwilloster@gmail.com

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Stayed here for one night so we could eat at the spectacular Tasting rooms. Well worth it.

The room was very spacious. Had a log fire. Also came with a complementary bottle of wine which was a very nice touch.

Staff were great.

It's right in town and easy to walk down the main street. Some very cool boutique shops.

Breakfast the next morning was very good as well.

Would happily stay here again even if I wasn't eating at the tasting rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew_Anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

After spending a couple of nights at Leeu House, and being favourably impressed, we decided to return to Le Quartier Francais after a long absence, to see how it compared, being owned by the same owner. We stayed in a spacious suite, with its own plunge pool, and separate lounge, together with a second bedroom upstairs, suitable for kids. Very comfortable, although the bed and pillows were not as comfortable as the ones we had at Leeu House. The linen was also not of the same very high standard we had previously experienced. Having said that, we preferred the ambience of LQF, which is absolutely charming. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. We had lunch at the bistro restaurant. Be warned though, that everything on the menu is " small plate ". We like small plates, but those looking for a more substantial plate of food would be disappointed. Our suite backed onto the road, so there was a bit of road noise during the day, but not enough to stop us having an afternoon nap. Of the two properties in the group, we are more likely to return to LQF, because of the tranquility and charm of the garden and surrounds. Another plus is the availability of plenty of secure parking on-site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or suite away from the road, in the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the beautiful LQF B&B. Our room was large, comfy, well lit (a seemingly rarity based on our experience) and well appointed. We really liked the in-room natural fireplace. The grounds were a delight, homey and beautiful even as winter was in the air. The staff were friendly and always helpful. The included breakfast was excellent with an extensive continental selection and hot items from the menu. The shops and restaurants of Franscphoek were literally just outside the door (though the on site bar and tapas restaurant means that one could choose to never leave LQF!). While perhaps a bit pricey for some, I consider LQF well worth the expense and highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Nofearkengear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisPinheiroLQF, General Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Dear nofearkengear,

Thank you for this flattering review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do love our position in the village – right on the High Street, but the accommodation secluded in our private gardens, ensuring you experience the best of the Franschhoek winelands lifestyle.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Great location. Premises are fantastic, elegant w an ample room, great pool and manicured garden. Included breakfast was excellent as was service. Staff very informative and try to help with everything, no matter what the request is!.....you can relax at poolside, walk the town, grab a meal close by or indulge in their restaurant...a meal to remember in the Tasting Room: beware have to book ahead - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews