We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need and more....”
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Corner House
Ranked #14 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent two nights with Daniele and Dick immediately prior to flying home. The guest house is quietly positionned but a few minutes' walk from Franschhoek's many attractions, with gated parking and a lovely garden and pool. The hosts made us most welcome and can guide you round the area's many attractions...don't miss the Graham Beck winery, la Motte and, especially the Motor Museum. The house has good wi-fi, a small safe in the room, hairdryer and an honesty bar. We could happily have stayed longer, the area is stunningly beautiful and there are so many wineries to visit! The house was spotlessly clean and breakfast delicious.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms open out directly onto the terrace which is nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had a fantastic 3 night stay with Danielle and Dick and were made really welcome in their corner guesthouse. Food and activity recommendations went down a treat - my husband even enjoyed the wine tasting on horse back that Danielle helped book for us! Also recommended is the picnic lunch at Solms-Delta winery - fantastic food and relaxing in under the shade by the stream. Good breakfast - option to have eggs, bacon, and also toast, cereal and fresh fruit. We had the red room on the bottom floor which I think was a bit cheaper than the rest but it was great as we had our own bit of balcony and own door so we were able to come back and relax in peace and quiet there or by the pool. The pool is not one where you can do your morning lengths, but a refreshing dip in the 35 degree heat is most welcome! Thanks so much to you both - recommended and we will come back on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecornerhouse, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you so much for this friendly review. Our red room is becoming more and more known; we sometimes receive reservations, especially asking for this room. We never thought this room had such an appeal to our customers. You mentioned the wine tasting on horseback: indeed this is a very special way to visit Fransschoek's wine estates. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and - of course - hope to see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We arrived in the beautiful village of Franschhoek after a wonderful three week holiday over Christmas and New Year in South Africa. This was the last stop before we flew back to Scotland and were looking forward to viewing the vineyards, village and surrounding area.

Danielle and Dick were very welcoming and we were given two lovely, comfortable, clean and bright rooms (for ourselves and three boys). Our room opened onto the verandah, and the boys' room was next door. Danielle organised a lift to an excellent local Italian Restaurant for us, and we were collected and returned to the Guesthouse after our meal - perfect.

However, at midnight our six year old was very sick (minestrone soup - not pretty) all over the lovely pristine white bedlinen. We spent the whole night up with him and cleaning up the mess. In the morning Danielle and her staff were extremely understanding and helpful, and dismissed my concerns over the mess.

During the day he deteriorated and Dick kindly organised an appointment at the local doctor. We were housebound all day and Danielle could not have been more helpful, and even gave Alistair a wee hippo as a present. She also offered to cook us an evening meal and get a DVD for our son to watch as we couldn't go out, and let our older boys into the Library where they found books and games to amuse themselves.

The following day they kept our room open for us as our flight didn't leave Cape Town until 7pm which was a huge help and enabled our son to rest as much as possible.

All in all, we could not have asked for a better place to stay - it was disappointing that I couldn't see as much of Franschhoek as I would've wanted, so I will definitely go back and visit The Corner House again. As a family with young children, we could not have been made more welcome.

Room Tip: Blue room looked lovely. Red room was lovely and had it's own door onto verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecornerhouse, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

We remember very well your poor sick child and we feel sorry we couldn't do more. We sincerely hope you visit Franschhoek again to make up for the things you missed this time, making sure you will have a wonderful time. Sunny regards from Franschhoek and thank you very much for writing this very special review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

What a perfect stay at the Corner House. Daniele and Dick are consummate hosts; from our welcome glass of champagne on the stoep, overlooking their gorgeous garden to the beautifully well-appointed rooms, spotlessly clean bathrooms and charming attentive staff. Maureen made us the best scrambled eggs in Franschhoek! We booked for one night and stayed for four. I would recommend the Corner House to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The service was excellent, you get the personalized service only fit for a kin.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
0.5 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
0.4 km away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
594 reviews
7.2 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 64 in Franschhoek
287 reviews
14.1 km away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 5 Unie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: €63 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique, 7 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing