We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveller rating
248
149
108
85
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
149
108
85
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bedroomsummer vacationlarge poolview of the oceannext yearstaying at this hotelyankee clipperflat screenthe jersey shorefamily vacationmany yearsgreat vacationpoolsboardwalkgamenjstove
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 732 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

the room was in need of updating. the balcony could have used a small table or something.the cleaning people were all so nice..I too witnessed the front desk yelling at a customer very loud about "if you act like an idiot you will be treated like an idiot". the restaurant served us rancid cheese sauce on our fries. had to send it back. and yes the pool and arcade close way too early.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Deidre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Just checked out on Thursday before Labor Day holiday and couldn't wait to leave. No one was friendly at the hotel, only the lovely lady in the gift shop. The hotel itself needs some tlc. Our room had a screen door which had no track to move on and a latch hook to keep closed. The room and bathroom was not very clean. The pool and game room close way too early for the kids. The restaurant was rarely open. Just all around frustrating. Even the lobby was dirty. No what you expect for the kind of money paid.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jacquelynnprasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

stayed at this hotel for one night only because I decided to go a day early to nj.
contrary to other reviewers, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

since I had not been in this hotel before it was very confusing to find which elevator to take to the room. a nice man walking by helped us find which direction to go to find our room.

the room was average - it was quite large and had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean but needed to be updated.

the breakfast was just ok - the service could have been better, the food was ok.

so while the hotel was average I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank allen8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

What we just witnessed take place in the lobby of this hotel was appauling!!! The front desk staff are rude and could care less about their guests!!! Your requests or needs are completely dismissed!! A customer was upset and the lady behind the desk screamed at him that she DOESNT CARE!!!! UNBELIEVABLE!!! Everything here is outdated, the wifi doesnt work, the only nice people are the ones that clean your room... we come here every year with 3 rooms of families... not anymore!! Nobody stay here! The good reviews are fake!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judyd6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWCBeach, Manager at Bal Harbour Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

The hotel customer services handled the complaints of a unruly guest quickly as possible as to not disrupt other guest 's vacations. It is unfortunate that the reviewer was already upset with the hotel because her 3 rooms were not located closely together. The hotel will take these requests into consideration, but they are guaranteed. The hotel will guarantee request for a small fee, which this reviewer chose not to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

First off, I hate writing negative reviews. That being said, we also did not stay in the most expensive room so I can't really speak on behalf of having experienced the best they have to offer. But still no matter how much you pay for your room, there should be things that are pretty standard throughout the whole hotel. We stayed in one of their smaller rooms with one double bed and a pull out couch. It did have its own private balcony with a pretty good view of the ocean on the left but on the right we had the eyesore of an overgrown empty lot. To be fair the lot may be out of the hotel's control, but still something to consider. What I saw of the hotel, and our room in particular is badly in need of some updating. Our room had some kind of moisture issues. Inexplicably at times the windows and mirrors would fog up. The room smelled a little musty and when we got home we noticed all our clothes had that smell. The mattress was shot, the carpets were old and a little dingy looking and I didn't really feel comfortable walking around on it with bare feet. The screen door leading out to the balcony fell off its track several times and I had to wrestle with it to get it back on. The hallways of the hotel looked like they haven't been vacuumed in days, and also our room wasn't vacuumed every day we were there. Which is important when you're right by the beach because it's impossible not to track at least some sand in. Parking is extremely tight. The parking garage drips constantly from the ceiling, with puddles and a foul smell. We only saw one ice machine which was in the corner of the parking garage under the main building. So if we wanted ice we had to take the elevator down from our building (dolphin building) through the parking garage, up a slope and down the slope and all the way through the main buildings parking garage at the furthest corner. This hotel has seen MUCH better days and for what they charge for a room you would think they make enough money to put it back into the hotel to make for much happier guests. You would also think that for being right on the beach they would have multiple shower areas for guests exiting the beach to clean the sand off. Nope. They have one rubber hose. For everyone. So waiting in line to use it is was commonplace for us. They do have a nice pool area, and its proximity to the beach are its best qualities in my opinion. And you do have to drive to the boardwalk and pay for parking because the hotel is about a dozen blocks or so away. If you can deal with all of this so you can be right by the beach and every other hotel in the area is booked then maybe you'd want to stay there. But there are plenty of much nicer hotels in the same area with comparable prices that you should definitely check out before this last resort of a hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Vaporgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews