We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
122
153
145
98
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
153
145
98
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean flat screen tv decent place indoor pool one night stay lobby area a wonderful stay front desk staff the jersey shore ihop hooper bartender
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Entrance remodel great. Staff from Laurie David n others great help. Pool times different only with Sunday host. Heated good! Room change good so happy wife happy life!!! Cleaning staff helpful too! Rooms standard by age but workable. Breakfast and staff good. Newspaper n info available. Maintenance on duty to help. Bar noisy but ok doors to rooms closed helps. Restaurant available local family will check out soon. Keep fireplace going nice affect. Thank you a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

My family and I stayed at this Howard Johnson for one night while we were in town, and overall, it’s a typical budget hotel and I appreciated the pet friendly hotel.

There is a complete lack of larger hotels in Toms River, which really shocked me when we had to find a place to stay one night. No Hiltons or Starwood close, just Wyndham hotels. That’s probably the main reason we stayed — lack of options.

They have a bunch of pet friendly rooms, which basically means the floors have tile instead of carpeting (so that you can clean up messes if they happen). The room was small, as to be expected, but for the off-season, the price was higher than I would’ve expected. I did like the fact that every room has a balcony or porch area, depending on what floor you were.

All the front desk people were very nice and accommodating, and they were the best part of the stay.

The breakfast was basically nonexistent. I went in there to see what I could eat, and it was some milk, a waffle-making machine and some sad looking danish. Was not appetizing, and I had a glass of milk and walked out. That's the main reason I gave this hotel 3 stars and not 4.

Overall, there aren’t many hotel options in Toms River itself. This hotel is not necessarily bad, but for $120 I would expect a little bit more.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flyer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Howard Johnson really let me down this time. There is nothing I can say good about this hotel other than do not stay there! Bed was beyond bad, the free breakfast was terrible and the room smelled awful.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cathie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Rooms were horrible for the price and not what you are expecting! The bathroom had stains in the tub and around the toilet seat! The bed was hard and the pillows were flat and uncomfortable! Their is mold out on the balcony! The room just looked dirty! And no coffee pot like it said on the web site! They lie on the web site!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chuste903177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Do NOT book this hotel. The rooms are very outdated. The pictures on the website are NOT what they will expect you to sleep in. The rooms are musty and smell like cigarettes.

The pool is listed as indoor and it is enclosed, but there is access to outside from three entrances which are not secured. It was overfilled and the pool deck was soaked and slick.

The hotel is attached to a bar/pub with live entertainment and is a happening place if you're into that sort of thing. But it's not very comforting to have drunk guests within feet of a family pool with free access into and out of.

Security wise, the hotel doors are all wide open with the access card system disabled so everyone can walk in and out.

The breakfast was cereal, muffins and a waffle maker . There were no eggs and no fruit.

We asked for additional towels for our room and were given pool towels with make up stains from prior guests.

We will not stay here again and will probably stay away from ALL Wydham hotels because they are clearly comfortable with false advertisement.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews