We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tournament”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Reviewed 27 October 2016

the reservation process was horrible. i reserved 6 rooms for my sons baseball team through the hotel front desk on 10/16. when i called the hotel on 10/21 to confirm the reservation with my confiormation#, the person at the front desk told me the rooms were not reserved in my name. apparently one of the parents called to put a hold on one of the rooms and gave a credit card. the reservation was then changed from my name to his, and my credit card information was deleted and his card was put on the reservation. needless to say, i was beside myself, the employee could not explain how or why this had happened. how could my info be erased/ changed without my permission? when i checked in at the hotel, there were no rooms left for me and my son to stay. after putting up a fight, the manager "found" a room for me. this caused major confusion among the parents and team members. it was not pleasant at all. i will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank X1892RUjosephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Joseph; Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We reached out to the hotel for clarification on this and understand that there were some errors with the way this was initially reserved and the confusion with other parents calling in to take those rooms. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you as well as the unnecessary stress. The manager worked with you and further explained what and how this happened upon arrival. We do appreciate that after a short time, we were able to place you in an upgraded room for your trouble.

The hotel will be happy to reserve these rooms under a group booking where each parent calls under a group name, not an individual name, next year to avoid this from occurring.

Thank you,
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Convenient location, needs overhaul pretty bad, don't step on the carpet barefoot, make sure you have sheet between blanket and you, bathroom amenities leave a lot to be desired. The only positive thing is a restaurant on premises convenient for dinner and not to have to drive. Breakfast is absolutely awful... don't see spending more than one night there

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Ellen; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. Guest comfort is very important to us and we are sorry to learn that the guestroom did not meet your expectations and you did not enjoy your stay. We value your comments and will share them with the appropriate team members to ensure the items are addressed and taken care of as quickly as possible. We appreciate your business and feedback.

Sincerely,
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We have stayed at this Howard Johnsons a few times in the past and it's a nice hotel. This time we were in town as I was running the Seaside Half Marathon. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is near the mall within short driving distance of Seaside Heights, and the mall. Christopher's Bar and Grill is a great place to eat and hang out. There is the Grove Restaurant and IHOP in a short walking distance. The soap and shampoo in the bathroom weren't that great but we bring our own so not a big deal. Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank NJOceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Welcome Back NJOceangirl; It is a pleasure seeing you again. We appreciate your feedback and pleased to hear that we met your expectations with this stay and you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for letting us know that the friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient location, Pub and new Grove Restaurant as well as the distance to the shore keep you coming back. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.

Thank you;
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank melissaandjerryc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Low budget hotel. Stayed overnight. Hotel needs a major overhaul
Lobby was nice and homey
Bathroom is old (shower,toilet,sink)
Rug is dingy it needs to be shampoed.Bed was hard as a rock
When I checked in and handed my credit card I was looking around she left my card on the counter
If I hand you something it should handed back to customer not left on counter. We didn't bother with breakfast we ate@ IHOP

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank abronxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear abronxgirl; Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate and welcome all feedback as it allows us to see where we are doing well and where improvements are needed. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention.
The comfort of our guests is our top priority and we apologize that the condition of the guestroom was not up to our standards and did not meet your expectations better. The error that took place upon arrival is something we take seriously and rest assured this is easily corrected with some additional training. We will share your feedback with the team to continue to improve upon our service moving forward.

Thank you,
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
1 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
4.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,317 reviews
9.9 km away
Best Western Leisure Inn
10.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range: €68 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing