We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service ... at a Price”
Review of Roots Steakhouse

Roots Steakhouse
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Summit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Never been here before, and visited with a group on a Saturday night. If parking's not available on the main street, swing around the corner for more or the downtown Summit parking lot - meters are off after 6 PM. Upscale ambiance, nicely appointed bar and very competent bar servers. Arrived earlier than my group and despite the bar being two-deep, was quickly served a perfect rye Manhattan at $12. Based on the crowd, would think that reservations are a must on week-ends.The rest of the group arrived and after a round of drinks, we were escorted to our table. There were several servers for our party of 14, and service was attentive and efficient - whoever's running the kitchen know's what they're doing. Complimentary pop-overs were served to everyone, and they could have been a little more tender. Seemed a little over-baked and that they had been sitting too long. Appetizers were ordered all around and they were adequate. I order "Roasted Middle-neck Clams Casino" which although the 6 clams were tasty, they seemed smaller than a mid-sized clam as is the definition of a middle-neck, so don't plan on sharing. The $13.95 "Rhode Island Crispy Calamari" I sampled although tasty, was also a small portion. That said, the Crispy Oysters Rockefeller and Lobster Bisque looked like nice size portions and were reported to be very good. My 8oz petite filet mignon was perfectly cooked, tender and flavorful, and the cheapest steak on the menu at $34.95. For a New York style steakhouse, I have no issue with the steak pricing given the quality of the meat having been to many of the type. However, I thought the sides, again although priced typical of this type of restaurant, were a little on the small side if you plan on sharing - especially for those with hearty appetites. Recommend wine by the bottle as wines by the glass will definitely do some wallet damage. After some desserts, espresso and coffee, the tab for 14 with tip was $1800. Overall, a good experience and this type of restaurant is usually a special occasion visit anyway for most people. Though margins are being made on the apps, sides and wines by the glass as is typical for the industry, I just think that app and side portions could be slightly larger based on my experience. There are also Roots in Morristown and Ridgewood.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Been going here for a good number of years. It's pricey - NYC style and that's OK while the food standard remains high. When you start to debate if you got your money's worth, then something needs to be improved. The bar and accompanying dining booths are classy and comfortable with more formal dining further back into the restaurant. The bartender Glenn was superbly attentive as I ordered what used to be my favorite appetizer, their Pacific Tiger Shrimp Cocktail @ $15.95. This time it was disappointing. The cocktail sauce which used to have such a pleasant "zip" to it was bland and runny. The shrimp were massive and tasty even without the sauce (which is what I had to do as the sauce was so disappointing). The Kobe Sliders which followed were diversified and tasty though they could come up with better buns. After consuming a $14.00 chardonnay and finishing the sliders I left a bit unsatisfied and disappointed that such an elegant and reputable establishment has not (at least in this occasion) lived up to its prior glory. I hope they are aware that there are cracks in the façade and know that being one of the most Expensive restaurants in the area is only OK when you are one of the Best restaurants in the area.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Wednesday night and the place was packed, for good reason. My steak was very good and the sides were fantastic. I also thought they had a fair and diverse wine list.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Rickalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This was the first time I was there, the bartender was nice, kept the drinks coming, other customers were sociable, and decor of restaurant and obiance of restaurant was good. Food was good. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

You don't need to drive to NYC to get a great steak. Roots in Summit have been saving steak lovers the cost of gasoline, tolls, and parking since it opened in Summit a dozen years ago. It hits all the classic steakhouse notes from the excellent selection of seafood starters like oysters, shrimp and crab cocktail to great salads to a wide variety of a carnivore's delights. Great dry aged strips, tbones and porterhouses perfectly grilled. A slew of wonderful sides accompany them. And save room for dessert. Especially their signature buttercake. Heavenly! Better make reservations or you'll have a long wait for a table.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Thom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roots Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Roots Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing