We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No longer a crowne Plaza... Now named "Hotel Somerset"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No longer a crowne Plaza... Now named "Hotel Somerset"”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is one of the hotels that could not make the cut when IHG launched their new rebranded chains. They finished the Holiday in relaunch (hotels with new sign), they are now starting on the Crowne Plaza's.... As for the Hotel Somerset i called to book the CP and was told that its no longer a Crown Plaza. Stayed at the HI across the street.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ski58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    61
    58
    35
    39
See reviews for
71
42
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is in an area with many hotels. I assume it is for corporate purposes as well as for Rutgers, which is nearby. I had stayed here 5 yrs earlier as my high school reunion was also held there. This time the reunion was nearby-- so I again booked here as previous stay was fine. The rate was astoundingly low. I assume this is because of much local competition as well as a quiet weekend. I jokingly asked for a "really nice room" and I was given a room on concierge level, at no extra cost. Room clean, very nice, with small balcony. All the small perks, though they did not have an in-room safe. I had a tablet with me and so on leaving I asked that it be placed in safe at reception area. They did not have room in the safe for it but obliged by placing safely and giving me a receipt. I say this because they were very accomodating in every way. Great deal if you are in this area!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobojkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCPSomerset, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. It is always a pleasure to see comments like this from our guest. We appreciate any feedback that is given so that we can continue to make each and every guest stay an experience that keeps them coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is my second stay here at the Crowne Plaza. Booked through Priceline and got a great rate. This is my idea of a perfect business hotel. Comfortable rooms; clean hotel. Restaurant is excellent; be sure to get a house salad; walnuts and cranberries; one of the best "house salads" I have ever eaten.
Excellent and friendly staff.
Was given free breakfast coupons. Asked for a newspaper at breakfast and was prompty given a USA Today. Even though I was getting the free breakfast buffet, a cooked-to-order egg white omelet was provided and it was delicious. This hotel caters to very large tour groups, but this does nothing to mar the excellent service.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the tower; excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagodocjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Room had fridge which was nice. Hotel was pretty quiet. Front desk staff was average at best. Sink in the bathroom was clogged up with standing water when we arrived. Other than the sink the room was well kept..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCPSomerset, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay. We greatly appreciate it when our guest let us know how we are doing. Most of our front desk staff are fairly new and we continue to work with them to make them efficient in the manner that our guest expect.

We hope that the next time you find the need for a hotel in the Somerset area that you will give us the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our drive north came to an abrupt halt in Princeton, New Jersey, when highways and bridges were closed due to Hurricane Irene. My husband and I then found ourselves among thousands of stranded travelers searching for a hotel room. Accommodations were almost impossible to come by, until we found a room at the Crowne Plaza. The hotel was 12 miles away from our location - a drive that took almost two hours because of the flooding - and we were concerned that we would not want to stay there once we finally arrived since we were unfamiliar with Somerset. Not to worry. The area is an oasis of a wide range of hotels. The Crowne Plaza, itself, offered a great rate to hurricane refugees. The room was spacious and comfortable, though I wasn't crazy about the pillows. I thought the hallways and guest room doors were surprisingly narrow, but I'm assuming that is not the case with the accessible accommodations. The only negative was that the room rate did not include a complimentary breakfast. I've grown to expect that from hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#5 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 110 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-1303 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMING SOON CROWNE PLAZA Early 2016!!! Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing