We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Tower Cottage B&B(Point Pleasant Beach)
US$418
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atlantic Motel(Point Pleasant Beach)
US$298
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Del Mar(Point Pleasant Beach)
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn Point Pleasant(Point Pleasant Beach)
US$334
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grenville(Bay Head)
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Twin Oaks Motel(Manasquan)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Girt Lodge(Wall Township)
US$258
US$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boardwalk Beach Inn(Point Pleasant Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Point Motel(Point Pleasant Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
235
101
34
37
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
101
34
37
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelscontinental breakfastheated poolrooms are cleanlast summerjersey shoregreat poolcan't wait to come backfamily vacationwi figreat familya great place to staythe past yearspoint pleasantwalking distance to the boardwalklast minutenew jersey
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

During our travel we usually stay in hotels or private houses. We really don't have experience with motels, but we were shocked to compare high ratings given by previous quests and our expectations with the real picture . Here is our humble opinion: Very old building requiring general renovation, not only new furniture in rooms. One morning, we couldn't open the door of our room. Because bathrooms are very old, it is difficult to judge their cleanliness We were very disappointed by overwhelming number of people smoking around the pool.We respect rights of smokers, but we had no place to hide from them. Even our room was filled with smell of cigarettes. We found burned cigarette's holes on one comforter. Good location. Very respectful and kind staff. Surprising beach discounts. Good, unlimited coffee in the morning. Quite after hours. We wish the best for management of this motel and we hope that our review will be helpful for future, potential visitors.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Senior Managment at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thanks for the review and valuable feedback; we are proud of our staff and our location and assure you that all bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned. We strive to provide the best experience for our customers. This year we replaced all furnishings, beds, drapes, carpets, lamps and added some amenities; Thanks to your recommendations regarding smoking we taking steps to limit smoking to the rear patio areas only.
In an earlier review it was suggested that we have coffee available earlier, and we now have a dedicated self-serve coffee maker available 24/7.
We are all somewhat confused over the comment abouth the building as it was built in the mid 70’s it is constructed of concrete and steel, with all walls, partitions and floors made of concrete. The roof is constructed with fire resistant materials the fire resistant steel doors and thermo pane windows where replaced within the last ten years. All faucets and bath fixtures are 2000 or newer as is the tile surrounding the baths. As for doors sticking, this is a limited issue caused by the excessive heat we have been experiencing this summer. Our onsite technician resolves issues as they arise.
In the future we ask that we be personally notified of issues so that we may resolve them and avoid any inconvenience to our guests. We have yet to determine the location of the bed spread mentioned and assure anyone reading this review we would never allow this to occur. We are checking each and every bed as we do regularly to make certain there are no issues.
Thanks again for your thoughtful personal observations as we take each customers individual views into consideration when assessing what improvements to make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

i booked two rooms july 13,14,15,16 had a great time staff are amazing very friendly nice people,clean rooms,great breakfast,pool very clean,place to sit eat food relax etc....and they also have barbecue grills in the back if you wanna cook your own food....2 blocks from the beach 5min walk.....very friend atmosphere....so if your looking for a great hotel for your point pleasant hotel this is the place to be....im going back aug 3,4,5,6

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My family had a wonderful time at the Amethyst. Walking distance to the beach. They have a very nice pool. I noticed everyone that was staying there was family. That is a big plus for me. The staff was very nice. Rooms were clean. I would recommend the Amethyst to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

just spend 2 nites there block from boardwalk...very nice ..stafff friendly....rooms clean. bath clean .pool was great.....would go again........thank you everyone ...rick and teri !! short walk to boardwalk.....breakfast was really good and coffee too........kids had a blast in the pool...nice to lay on teh lounges around the pool.....loved the small refrigerateor and microwave in the room.....,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,best motel i have stayed in ...for a long time......very conveient to everything ..more a family place........everyone was nice.....wish i couldhave stayed longer and the discounted beach passes were a great help........beds comfy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!clean!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: queen size isgreat....
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teridakdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stay here for the 4th. Very close to the beach and has a nice pool. Breakfast included with booking for a small fee per room not person. That was great! If u get there early there is plenty of parking I. The area and the owner let us check is early. Overall I was vert pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandora1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews