We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned.”

Orient Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Pennsville
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Best Chinese in Salem county. Great food good portions reasonable prices. Many choices from express lunch menu to combination platters to full entrees.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank joekaminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We have been coming from Mullica Hill to the Orient for almost 20 years. It is worth the drive every time. There are many places between where we live and the Orient, but none even come close in quality. Had large takeout order over Christmas week and they came through with excellent meals with plenty left over. My daughter ordered a dish not on the menu and they easily handled the request and it was great (Kung-Pao Tofu)!!!! Hot and Sour soup is among the best I have ever had and General Tso is very tasty. Highly recommended!!!!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We have always had a wonderful delicious meal here. Their cuisine is always perfectly prepared.
We love their General Tsos chicken and especially love their soups.
Their combination plates are always reasonable with egg roll and soup included.
Their entire menu is wonderful
We definitely recommend the Orient Chinese Restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank lindamV3132LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Our family has been coming to The Orient since 1997. Since we moved away from Pennsville we always meet up with friends and sit at the large round table that is so inviting! The staff is excellent! We ALWAYS order multiple House Chicken (with extra sauce!) along with Crab Wontons. We have never been disappointed. If you are driving from NJ through VA - give us a call and we will have you pick up a to go order!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank RickandDebbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

When you were young, I'm talking about the 60's, did your parents take you to lunch or dinner at the local Chinese restaurant? If you think back to that experience, you can picture Orient Chinese Restaurant. You walk into a small reception area that is used for takeout and the cashier. In front of you is an archway that brings you into the old style charm that has all but disappeared. Deep red and gold carpets, dragons and the traditional Chinese Restaurant decor. You are greeted and seated within minutes. I have never waited more than 15 minutes. The wait staff is always cordial and efficient. After all, one of the owners is always on hand keeping close tabs on the operation.
Immediately upon seating, chilled water and hot tea arrives at the table.
The menu offerings are exactly what you want in this type of setting.and there is plenty to choose from. My favorite appetizers are their pan fried dumplings and the scallion pancakes served with a ginger soy sauce. Entree's span the spectrum from chow mein to lo mein, From sweet and sour to hot and spicy and everything in between. A couple can easily have full dinners for under $40.00. The typical and iconic gelatin and pineapple round out every meal.
The kitchen produces each selection quickly and precisely. Your food comes out exactly as expected each and every time. Orient Chinese Restaurant pleasingly serves up consistently good food at a price that doesn't break the bank. We go back again and again.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Food
Thank murman021052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orient Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Orient Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing