We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!”
Review of Port-O-Call Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port-O-Call Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I recently stayed at the Port-O-Call and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was wonderful and I would like to give a big THANK YOU to the amazing woman I dealt with, her name is Yetta. She was so helpful, VERY accommodating to all of our requests and very professional. She made our stay worthwhile and a pleasant one. Also want to thank another staff member, Milen, for all of the help he provided. He could not have nicer. The Hotel is extremely clean (which is one of my priorities) and has a wonderful view of the beach/ocean. I would give it ten stars if I could, and will definitely stay here again. Cannot
wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DV822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for acknowledging our staff members who went the extra mile to ensure you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

It has been several years since we stayed at the Port O Call and were hoping that it was renovated over that time. Well it was but, not meeting our expectations!

Very surprised by the size of the "dresser". Very small considering it was on a huge wall..

Bathroom area had two sinks but, that just took away from counter top space useless for two sinks in such a small bathroom.

The wall unit air conditioner blew right onto the bed but, did NOT cool the back of the suite...and more interesting if two of you sat on the extremely small balcony one chair was in front of this wall air conditioner blowing hot air on you. Not pleasant when your at the shore. Would have been nice to have a screen on the sliding door so, you could open door at night hear ocean and get that great breeze.

After paying for a king ocean front corner suite we thought that the bed would at least be facing out to the ocean...not to the wall on the other side of the room. Plenty of room to do it not sure why they choose not to do it that way.

Adele's sounded good but, we tried it every day and found the food went from bad to worst. We liked the waitress she was very friendly and courteous!!

Overall thought $1100 for three nights was a little pricey for the accommodations (at the time we booked it we hoped it was all updated) and the fact it was off season.

Room Tip: Not sure..we thought the King Corner Suite would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review, we appreciate your feedback.

Our dressers were designed to limit its footprint in the room. Most hotel dressers are large and bulky with shallow drawers, which monopolizes precious floor space. Our dressers offer (6) extra deep drawers that are housed in a taller cabinet. This option allows us to maximize floor space without losing storage space. This option also allows us to place (2) large wing back chairs on each side of the dresser for more comfortable seating in the room.

Our bathrooms in our Front Corner King rooms are actually quite large, so I'm a bit confused by this comment.

You mentioned that the AC unit did not cool your entire room. I noticed that we did not receive a complaint or service request from your room. Our priority is your comfort, we would have gladly replaced your AC unit with a brand-new unit, which requires no more than 10 minutes.

You also mention that AC unit was blowing hot air while sitting on the "extremely small balcony". The balcony for the unit you stayed in is 10 feet 7 inches long and 4 feet 5 inches wide, which is quite large and easily allows you to shift your chair away from the AC unit.

In checking your history, I noticed you stayed with us in 2005 and stayed in the same room type. The king size bed has always remained in its present position. This allows our guests to sit on the comfortable wing back chairs while viewing the ocean rather than sitting on the edge of the bed.

I do apologize that you did not enjoy our restaurant. However, I'm happy you found your waitress to be friendly and courteous.

Finally, our beautiful hotel receives extensive renovations every off-season which is something that we our quite proud of. Since your stay in 2005 and to date, we have renovated our guest rooms, restaurant, lobby, lower lobby, and most recently our guest room hallways.

Should you wish to speak to me further regarding your stay with us, I would be happy to have that opportunity. Of course, I would have preferred to address your concerns while you were here at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We returned to Port-O-Call for the 3rd straight summer and it was amazing as always. We arrived late morning knowing that we couldn't check in until 3pm, but the front desk employee told us we were more than welcome to use the pool/beach and the hotel until our room was ready. Received a call around 2:30 that our room was ready. As usual there was a very friendly bellhop offering to assist me with bringing the bags up to the room. The restaurant for breakfast was delicious and the wait staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping was excellent as always, seemed that they'd always time it right, we'd head out for breakfast around 10am and by the time we got back to the room it was all set. The cookies/chocolate/juice boxes that housekeeping leaves at night are always a welcome site by my son. After we checked out the bellhop helped us bring all of our baggage out and even helped me cram everything into the car (no idea how I fit it all!). As usual we had a wonderful time and hope to be back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sethlvgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience during your stay at the Port-O-Call. I would also like to thank you for choosing the Port-O-Call over the last (3) years. It is always are goal to provide the best service possible during each and every stay. Based on your comments, I'm glad we acheived that goal. I will certainly share this review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend. Expensive but well worth the money. My family loved it. We would definitely stay there again next summer. Their restaurant is a bit expensive w ok food. Definitely recommend it! Room was super clean. The view was spectacular! The bed was extremely comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We so glad you had a wonderful time at the Port-O-Call Hotel and found your accommodations clean and comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again next summer and for many summers to come.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

The Port-O-Call is the only place we stay in Ocean City. We've been staying there for at least 20 years after trying other places in OCNJ and have never had a bad experience. As a family with lots of allergies, we are happy that this property is clean, apparently free of mold/mildew issues, smoke-free, and has resisted the trend of allowing pets. By this point, I think we've stayed in every type of room possible, with the exception of the King rooms. Every type has been fine for 3-4 people. Our latest stay was in a Superior Bay View room. It's a great size for 4 people and has enough space to put the luggage out of the way.

It's just a pleasant place to stay! We've never encountered a staff member who wasn't friendly or helpful. The pool, the restaurant, and the outdoor snack bar are more than adequate and nice to have on-site.

While the beach is just steps away, it's a bit of a hike to boardwalk shops and attractions from the hotel. That's not all bad, because it's rather quiet. Just be prepared to walk.

On this stay, we needed to use the laundry facilities in the hotel basement, as a seagull got our beach blanket. Yuk. $6 in quarters will get you detergent, wash and dry. The appliances are small but worked well, and the display helpfully tells you how many minutes until the cycle finishes. Great to have a laundry if you need it!


The only aspect of our latest stay that was a little inconvenient was the timing of housekeeping for our room. We typically get up and moving in the morning and then return to our room mid-afternoon to rest and get ready for dinner. This was when the housekeeping staff came to our room. However, they were quite kind to accommodate us by sending the night maids in while we were at dinner, so it worked out fine.

If you like the Port-O-Call, check out their packages for special rates and seasonal activities. We enjoyed the last New Year's Eve package and plan to return this year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank hereshecomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is such an honor to know that you have been loyal Port-O-Call guests for over 20 years, that really means a great deal to us. In addition, cleanliness and customer service is a top priority at the hotel and we are happy you experienced that during your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you during your New Year's visit.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
1.1 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
1.2 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
1.5 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
5.1 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
0.2 km away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 31 in Ocean City
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port-O-Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port-O-Call Hotel

Address: 1510 Boardwalk, 15th and Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3153
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: €131 - €278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port-O-Call Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Beachfront Accommodations for both the Family and Adult Holiday. Ocean City's premier resort offers spectacular beachfront accommodations with breathtaking ocean views. Just steps from our front door are Ocean City's famous boardwalk and beaches. Our staff is committed to providing uncompromising services to all our guests. Located on the scenic boardwalk of Ocean City, New Jersey. The Port-O-Call Hotel is perfect for both business and social gatherings. Our modern meeting rooms accommodate a vast array of groups and provides a professional, comfortable environment for a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Port-O-Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o Call Hotel
Hotel Port o Call

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing