We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$289
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Breeze Hotel(Ocean City)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Water Inn(Ocean City)
US$148
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biscayne Suites(Ocean City)
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plymouth Inn(Ocean City)
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Inn(Ocean City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
222
114
26
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
114
26
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuice boxeswet bardouble sinkspink hotelpool tagsocean viewoff seasonopen for breakfast and lunchthe jersey shoregreat oceanquiet endfront desk staffparking lotking roomthe room was nicewi fishore hotel
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We returned to Port-O-Call for the 3rd straight summer and it was amazing as always. We arrived late morning knowing that we couldn't check in until 3pm, but the front desk employee told us we were more than welcome to use the pool/beach and the hotel until our room was ready. Received a call around 2:30 that our room was ready. As usual there was a very friendly bellhop offering to assist me with bringing the bags up to the room. The restaurant for breakfast was delicious and the wait staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping was excellent as always, seemed that they'd always time it right, we'd head out for breakfast around 10am and by the time we got back to the room it was all set. The cookies/chocolate/juice boxes that housekeeping leaves at night are always a welcome site by my son. After we checked out the bellhop helped us bring all of our baggage out and even helped me cram everything into the car (no idea how I fit it all!). As usual we had a wonderful time and hope to be back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sethlvgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience during your stay at the Port-O-Call. I would also like to thank you for choosing the Port-O-Call over the last (3) years. It is always are goal to provide the best service possible during each and every stay. Based on your comments, I'm glad we acheived that goal. I will certainly share this review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend. Expensive but well worth the money. My family loved it. We would definitely stay there again next summer. Their restaurant is a bit expensive w ok food. Definitely recommend it! Room was super clean. The view was spectacular! The bed was extremely comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We so glad you had a wonderful time at the Port-O-Call Hotel and found your accommodations clean and comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again next summer and for many summers to come.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

The Port-O-Call is the only place we stay in Ocean City. We've been staying there for at least 20 years after trying other places in OCNJ and have never had a bad experience. As a family with lots of allergies, we are happy that this property is clean, apparently free of mold/mildew issues, smoke-free, and has resisted the trend of allowing pets. By this point, I think we've stayed in every type of room possible, with the exception of the King rooms. Every type has been fine for 3-4 people. Our latest stay was in a Superior Bay View room. It's a great size for 4 people and has enough space to put the luggage out of the way.

It's just a pleasant place to stay! We've never encountered a staff member who wasn't friendly or helpful. The pool, the restaurant, and the outdoor snack bar are more than adequate and nice to have on-site.

While the beach is just steps away, it's a bit of a hike to boardwalk shops and attractions from the hotel. That's not all bad, because it's rather quiet. Just be prepared to walk.

On this stay, we needed to use the laundry facilities in the hotel basement, as a seagull got our beach blanket. Yuk. $6 in quarters will get you detergent, wash and dry. The appliances are small but worked well, and the display helpfully tells you how many minutes until the cycle finishes. Great to have a laundry if you need it!


The only aspect of our latest stay that was a little inconvenient was the timing of housekeeping for our room. We typically get up and moving in the morning and then return to our room mid-afternoon to rest and get ready for dinner. This was when the housekeeping staff came to our room. However, they were quite kind to accommodate us by sending the night maids in while we were at dinner, so it worked out fine.

If you like the Port-O-Call, check out their packages for special rates and seasonal activities. We enjoyed the last New Year's Eve package and plan to return this year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank hereshecomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is such an honor to know that you have been loyal Port-O-Call guests for over 20 years, that really means a great deal to us. In addition, cleanliness and customer service is a top priority at the hotel and we are happy you experienced that during your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you during your New Year's visit.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Reserved two adjoining ocean front rooms in May for a long weekend in July. We were very impressed with the hotel. Beautiful pool area, which they keep very clean. We noticed that the staff members were very friendly, from the front desk staff and valet, to the maids and pool staff. We did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked like a nice venue. This hotel is right on the boards, but down at the more quiet end of things. Quick walk up to Ike's crabcakes and Manco & Manco. Parking was easy, they have a private lot. Flippers snack bar by the pool area was perfect for a quick lunch.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms were well equipped with balcony, fridge, and good AC. Liked the in-room coffee makers as well!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and our staff friendly.

We hope to see you again soonn!

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Great Hotel, we stayed with 4 families. It is located just after the craziness of the boardwalk fun so you are close enough to it all yet just far enough to not be bothered by the noise and heavy foot traffic.
Pool is nice and an added bonus of a restaurant located in the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank designsbyvalentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews