We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Made Pasta”
Review of Panico's

Panico's
Reserve with OpenTable
Panico's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 231 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nielson Street
Description: Across the street from the main Panico's restaurant, but a totally different establishment, specializing in delicious thin-crust pizza.
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Classic Italian. The decor is a little stuffy but the pasta dishes were fantastic. The bar makes a superb Hendricks (gin) Martini, the spacing between courses was relaxed, and it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We've been going to Panico's for at least 25 years and generally counted it as one of our favorites. However, over the past few years it seemed to be sliding downward. It felt "dowdy" and deserted. Despite all kinds of gimmicks and discounts the management just could not seem to attract customers.

Happily , our meal there last Friday night, found a lively, well-attended restaurant that was refreshed and restored with new lighting, better organized seating, attentive service, and a menu that offered many of the dishes that we counted as old friends. Our server told use that the menus were changed regularly.

So, we'll also return to become regulars once again. It remains a place for serious, but not pretentious, eating. It's a place where I feel comfortable in a sport jacket and not out of place if I decide to wear a tie.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank NormG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Went with a group while staying at a nearby hotel and had a relaxing and tasty dinner. The preparation of the bacon wrapped scallop appetizer included a balsamic cream sauce with spinach that was out of this world. Everyone at the table enjoyed their dishes including the four teenage girls we had with us. More expensive than Panico's Pizza right across the street but we wanted something more elegant and this restaurant did not disappoint.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and good service except for slow with many long waits between table visits. App was good eggplant rollatini. Many wines on list not available. Veal ossobucco was excellent. Good cappuccino for dessert. About 60 per person with 1 bottle wine, 2 apps, 1 dessert for 5.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank adbtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Went here for the first time recently, and first impressions were pretty good. Nice place, tasteful atmosphere, good service. Unfortunately the food just didn't cut it for me. As I was visiting from out of state, I was really looking forward to a good NJ Italian dinner. To begin with, the bread seemed a little on the stale side. Then the various antipasti dishes our group ordered were all just "eh". But my biggest disappointment was the main course. I ordered veal parmigiana; the veal was not tender, the breading was soggy, and the sauce was an overpowering tomato ragu. The side of pasta was not even good. I've actually had better Italian food at the national chain restaurants.

Just to round out my review, should also note that while parking on the street is tough to find, there is a parking garage entrance almost directly across the street from Panico's

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MO_Rates_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panico's also viewed

 
New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Panico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing