We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day Family Dinner”

Spanish Tavern of Mountainside
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Mountainside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Spanish Tavern is the premier destination in New Jersey for awarding winning traditional and contemporary Spanish cuisine. Those who have dined with us at Spanish Tavern have come to know us as restaurant they can rely on for superb food, delicious drinks, exceptional service and a gorgeous environment to turn the every day and most special of occasions into warm memories. New Jersey Monthly Magazine has named Spanish Tavern as Best Spanish Restaurant in Northern New Jersey. Our menu is well rounded, with a large emphasis placed on seafood dishes due to the seaside Spanish regions where the owners are from. Favorites include our Shrimp in Garlic Sauce appetizer, Veal Corunesa, Twin Lobsters, Paella Valencia and Branzino Filet a la Plancha. Our lunch menu is accessible for casual lunch meetups in addition to being a smart choice for a business meeting. A children's menu allows for Spanish Tavern to be a dining option for the whole family. Our private dining room can host up to 75 guests for any event, including christenings, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, reunions and charity events. Spanish Tavern also excels at catering and would be happy to work with you to bring you vision to life. Come by or call for takeout to see why we're New Jersey's favorite Spanish restaurant!
Reviewed 23 June 2016

My family decided to celebrate Father's Day on Saturday knowing that Spanish Tavern is a local favorite. The service was outstanding with the courses choreographed perfectly so that no one was left waiting while others were already served. Of particular note was the octopus and seafood paella - the octopus tender and sweet and not over cooked and the paella packed with seafood. (Looked like more seafood than rice ;o)
All-in-all the quality and service that we expected from past visits.
Marshall

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mtangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Hey, Marshall -- I appreciate the kind words! Thanks for spending such a special day at our place. I look forward to having you and the rest of the family in for another great meal soon.

All the best,
Tony, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

I am a lifetime customer, coming to the Spanish Tavern since they opened in Mountainside. I have hosted many events here and had many celebratory,special occasion,business, and casual dinners here over many years. Through all of this time I can honestly say they never disappoint,if there is an issue,which has truly only happened once or twice in decades, they quickly resolve it. They handle large crowds with great organization and ease.And well the food is simply great!!Thanks for being a restaurant that I can always count on!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cape31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hi, Carolyn! I know we touched base elsewhere, but I want to thank you again. You're special to us.

Best,
Tony, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Meals at Spanish Tavern are always delicious. The servings are abundant. We are never disappointed. Good for parties as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

I'm happy to hear you've had delicious, satisfying meals with us here. That's a real compliment. Looking forward to having you by for many more visits in the future!

Best,
Tony, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

The food is great!! The sangria is #1... And the staff is so friendly, they make you feel @home!!! YOU WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank Tonycunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thanks for the kind words! I'm thrilled you feel at home with us and can always enjoy a glass of sangria. See you again soon!

Best,
Tony, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Everything seemed to click tonight, from the nice table at the window to the attentive waiter and his assistants and naturally the food. Excellence throughout.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ManfredJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Manager at Spanish Tavern of Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

I'm thrilled to hear everything, from the food to the service, went smoothly for you. Looking forward to having you by for another awesome experience in the near future!

Thanks again,
Tony, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Tavern of Mountainside also viewed

 

Been to Spanish Tavern of Mountainside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing