We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

De Novo European Pub
Ranked #4 of 234 Restaurants in Montclair
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Started with the escargot in garlic/parsley butter, cognac and melted gruyere. Also ordered the bacon wrapped Dates stuffed with Gorgonzola and almonds. Both were outstanding!
For entrees, we ordered the black and white sesame crusted Tuna with spicy chipotle aioli, asparagus, roasted potatoes in a soy reduction. This was excellent!
One of the specials, a Chilean sea bass with Moroccan rub and a sweet syrupy glaze that came with potatoes and bok choy was just slightly undercooked but otherwise very good as well.

For dessert, two of my favorite tastes combined in one decadent delight, a Pecan pie bread pudding topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and mint leaf sprig.
Beers were expensive e.g. $8-$9 apiece for imported German/Belgian varieties, but the overall cost was very reasonable.
All of the above, including two expensive beers, came to only $100 (before tip).

Overall, the entire meal was great!
Service was great! Our waitress was very attentive and likable.

The only downside is that the tables are very close together so if you’re looking to have a private conversation, you can’t.
Additionally, it is very loud/noisy making it difficult to hear and have a conversation without yelling and tuning everyone in to your business.

Also, be aware that since this was formerly train station, there is a big parking lot, however, all of the spaces are labeled permit parking only. My understanding is that you can park in the lot after 7 PM during the week and all day Saturday and Sunday. Otherwise, you’ll have to find parking on the street if arriving earlier.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank PizzaMavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Good food and I like that they have a diversified menu, there’s something for everyone. And in a town with lots byob’s it’s good to have a place where you can order a cocktail.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

A charming restaurant in a converted train station, the food and the ambiance were excellent. The mushroom risotto was delicious as was the artichoke appetizer and bread served in a cone shaped container. This New York style restaurant is noisy with the tables close together but the food and service more than made up for that. I will return there soon!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

A great dining experience from the moment we sat down. This restaurant has plenty of charm and ambiance with it being located it in what appeared to be an old waiting area of a train station. Our friend had been here numerous times and highly recommended it. The restaurant didn't disappoint. We had 5:30 reservations on a Sunday evening and they honored them on time. The place was crowded.

After you order, they put a basket of very tasty bread with a marinara sauce on the table for you to enjoy. The bread was fresh. We began our meal with the fried calamari, grilled octopus, and a garden salad. The calamari was cooked fresh, seasoned right, and wasn't greasy. The grilled octopus was tender. The garden salad was a very generous portion. Overall the appetizers were impressive both with taste and portion size.

Our entrees consisted of the broiled bronzini, orecchiette with sausage and broccoli rabe, and a pasta special that consisted of penne pasta, artichokes, and sundried tomatoes. The bronzini was cooked to perfection and served with asparagus. The orecchiette had just the right amount of garlic, sausage, and broccoli rabe. My wife loved her pasta special.

Believe it or not, we had dessert. We had the chocolate pecan pie which was excellent, the coffee gelato, and the chocolate bread pudding with coffee gelato. Wow! Not the healthiest but so very good and refreshing.

The service was excellent. The prices were reasonable. The portions were generous. They have a very large private parking lot so not to worry about parking. The bathrooms were clean. A great find in Montclair.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Location, food, and ambience is good but the service/seating seems to be a little chaotic when Dimitri (owner) is not around.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank achid2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Novo European Pub also viewed

 

Been to De Novo European Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing