We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with friends - excellent food and great ambience”

MoonShine Modern Supper Club
Reserve with OpenTable
MoonShine Modern Supper Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Millburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Millburn Ave
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Able to make a reservation for a Saturday night a few days in advance. Table was ready. Timothy our server was great - answered many questions in depth about specials and items on the menu and bar menu.
Our table enjoyed a Kale salad, Country salad and the spiced Tuna Tartare. The tune was outstanding! Our entrees included the braised short ribs, Forrest Mushrooms and Ricotta Ravioli and 2 Berkshire Pork Porterhouse. All meals were OUTSTANDING and can't say enough how tasty. The Pommes Auch are also a must! Drinks were great and we even enjoyed a few of the desserts - bread pudding - very rich and could only eat a small portion of it, a peanut butter dessert special which got rave reviews from part of our party.
All in all, - great service from Timothy, excellent food and drinks and will be back again! This time perhaps with the kids since they eat free Sunday Monday and Tuesday!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Had a very unfortunate experience and wish I had read the reviews prior to planning dinner. As indicated in others reviews, this is a place to go only for parties and not for fine dining. We went for dinner and were seated at the bottom of the stairs which lead to a private party upstairs. We were overwhelmed with the the DJ, the yelling and the stomping. We could only assume that the party of 8 seated behind us was trying to drown out the noise since that group spent the evening yelling to one another and banging the table. While the conduct of some patrons should not be held against the entire restaurant, it is obvious that only a large group can enjoy this particular restaurant and it should be avoided by couples or anyone looking for fine dining.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sddelvecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Nice place. It has a quiet, relaxed ambiance , that's quite upscale. The menu is very good. It's not inexpensive, but it for the ambiance it is worth it.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank CaptainDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My firm recently hosted our holiday dinner party at Moonshine and it was fantastic! Everyone had a wonderful time and the food was amazing! Everything from the appetizers, to the salad, entrée and dessert was prepared/ cooked to a perfection. I ordered the filet and my fiancé ordered the salmon - both were cooked perfectly and had great flavor. From the look of everyone else's dish you couldn't possibly go wrong with what you chose.

What's even better is this isn't just great for office parties... The entire place had a wonderful atmosphere whether you were in a larger group or just out for a nice date night or even a fun night out with the girls (or guys).

As for the service... top notch! Very friendly, attentive, and organized. If you are organizing a dinner party, you will have a very pleasant experience working with Victor. (I have organized work events in the past and it can be very frustrating if you are stuck working with someone that wears his/her confidence and ignorance on their sleeve).

One other added bonus worth mentioning... there is a parking lot around back which was SO convenient. One of the hassles I find when going out to other restaurants is that parking is always a pain. Either there isn't any or you have to keep worrying about paying the meter... Not at Moonshine!

Will definitely be going back!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mgerckens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We held a club holiday dinner here for 20 people. Victor, our contact for organizing the event, was great to work with. He was reliable and responsive, working with us to accommodate dietary and budgetary needs. The evening was a huge success and every person thoroughly enjoyed her meal. Further, the service was excellent: friendly, efficient, and they even managed to get everyone's meals out at pretty much the same time, which is always a challenge with such a large group. This was a Monday night, so the restaurant was relatively quiet, which was perfect for us. I"m sure later in the week and on the weeknights it's much more hopping. I will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebJacSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MoonShine Modern Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to MoonShine Modern Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing