We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Management and Facilities”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Before I describe the physical part of our stay, I want to make clear that what makes a great hotel is not just the rooms and public areas, but whether there is a great service team in place and that the management/owners know what is going on and truly care about their guests.

We were vagabonds of hurricane Sandy last week. With no power and a failing generator, we had to go from hotel to hotel with our 2 small children and adult son. After being displaced at our local hotel, Somerset Hills so a wedding party guest could have our room, I found the Westminster. I knew of it because I am formerly from Livingston and they have a world-class steak house on site. They offer free hot breakfast each morning and there are other amenities.

I caught the hotel just as they were regaining their own power so I was able to get a room for Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, but not Monday because they were full.
When we arrived to check in, they informed us that the restaurant was closed for days. That there would be no breakfast, and that there was literally no food in the hotel at all. During normal times I would have turned and walked out; how your perspective changes when a hot shower, heat, a bed to sleep in, the internet and TV become more important than whether they have a restaurant open.

We asked several times if they could accomodate us on Monday night, but they could only put us on a "wait list". We had heard that before, and knew it basically meant "forget it". How pleased we were when the manager called personally Saturday night to tell us he would hold a room for us knowing our situation and honor the low price of our original room. Thaty may seem like no big deal, but to me, a 30 year business owner myself, I realized that they could have sold this room 1000 times over at rack rate to many people. This was a true act of customer service.

Concerning the hotel itself: The rooms are modern with a kind of boutique hotel vibe. Nice beds and toiletries. Free, fast internet and great TV. There was even a couch in the regular double room. Considering the dire situation here in NJ, the service was great and the rooms very clean.
Not a For Seasons, but the nicest hotel of this type I have stayed in. Those that complained of the price for what they got obviously never stay at nicer hotels in NY/NJ area, becuse there is no such thing as a $99.00 room unless you stay at a Motel 6.

We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for more privacy. There is no view anyway because it is on a highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,
We loved reading your kind review. How wonderfully you have captured the essence of Westminster Hotel. We certainly strive to deliver the best experience and value possible even under difficult circumstances, such as during the “Hurricane Sandy” and it’s aftermath. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 577 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here right after they got power back from Frankenstorm. They could of had a zillion reasons why rooms weren't clean or the service wasn't friendly. They didn't need them because both were impeccable at an extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. Even under the most challenging times, such as “Hurricane Sandy”, our team works tirelessly to maintain our service levels. Thank you and we are very appreciative of your recognition.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and it was overall a good stay. The front desk staff was very helpful and polite. They explained all the amentites and gave us clear directions to our room. When we arrived at our room, it was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean as well minus a bit of grunge around the handrail in the tub that might have been overlooked by the housekeeping staff. After our busy day of travelling, we managed to get a good sleep thanks to the comfy bed. We tried the free breakfast the next morning and it was O.K although the staff in there seemed a bit unwelcoming. Spent most days out and returned evenings to the room cleaned to perfection. The only mishap was that there were two of us staying in the room but the housekeeping kept leaving us only one clean washcloth. Outside of that, the housekeeping staff was friendly. Went to check out the gym which was so far down and tucked away in the basement that we decided not to use it especially since there was no security in sight. One thing we found was that the elevators and hallways to the rooms were always warm (no ventilation?) For the most part, this was a lovely hotel for our short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virgomom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Westminster Hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and the room. We are happy to hear that you got a good night sleep on our amazingly comfortable Hollandia International bed.
Thank you for staying at the Westminster Hotel. Should your travelers take you back to the area, please visit us again.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was the recomended place to stay for an organized event. The hotel is clean, modern and well kept. Our room was above average in square footage and well appointed. All amminties were included. The refigerator was a plus and the Wi-Fi worked well. Only down side was the lighting in the bathroom was poor, even with the seperate shaving mirror I had some difficulty shaving. The drinks at the cocktail lounge were a bit pricey. There were to mixologist, the lady was very good but the man seemed more interested in the younger women and made a comment to us that was a bit out of line. We had the Sunday morning breakfast buffet, the food was acceptable but not worth the price. Overall performance was upheld by the hotel and it's staff, the dining facility was less than stellar.

Room Tip: We found that the indoor pool and exersise area were quite nice. The rooms were quieter than most la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, General Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular your room and our health and wellnes facilities. We appreciate the high marks you give us for our rooms, service, cleanliness and location! I do hope you will return and it would be my pleasure to handle the details of a future stay personally. Please feel free to contact me on 973.548.0036 if i can assist you further.

Michael Polese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for a reunion and found our room to be very elegantly appointed and comfortable. The front desk personnel were courteous and helpful. Parking is free and plentiful. The bar is pricey, but convenient. There seems to be a lot of wedding parties here. The hotel food is....hotel food. Satisfactory, but not great. Bottom line: I would visit again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, General Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would return. If i can assist you in the future, please call on me personally. You can reach directly on 973.548.0036.

Michael Polese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
7.9 km away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
556 reviews
8.3 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morristown
846 reviews
9.1 km away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
623 reviews
6.3 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,092 reviews
6.6 km away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: €94 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing