We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Zen Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #13 of 96 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I used to work in the area and loved the fact that this place is in a strip mall and tucked away. I feel like it's definitely one of those hidden gems. The décor is minimal but not in a bad way. The food has always been fresh and delicious whenever I've eaten there.

They have a good amount of sushi as well as your traditional Japanese cuisine. This place is also a BYOB so who doesn't love that. It also happens there is a liquor store in the same plaza as Zen so before you go pop on over and grab your favorite bottle of wine or some sake and enjoy some of the freshest sushi in the area.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelNomad_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Men has excellent Japanese cuisine. Sushi,Teriyaki beef, and other plates are good. Tempera and Bento boxes are also a good choice

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank elaineonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Zen is a great lunch or dinner spot for high quality sushi at a reasonable price. their rolls are fantastic (my favorite is the fatboy roll) but their sushi and sashimi are also very good. For lunch, you will not find a better deal than the Sushi lunch or the even better deal the Sushi and Sashimi Combo lunch. Tons of food for a great price always is a good option for me.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V9147FGrobertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We have been to Zen more times than we can remember. Our pictures are hanging on the wall when the owner took them, we have tried every single item on their menu and never had a bad experience. In fact, we love it. We love their cooked food and sushi. Service is pretty great and the food is amazing.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Portions are massive and the fish is really fresh. No delivery which is kind of an inconvenience. They always get the order right and seaweed salad is good too.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Zen Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing