We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
151
41
26
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
41
26
14
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpacassuiteweekendmiledoebridge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Due to the low volume of guests they received the night we arrived our room was upgraded to the suite. It had an electronic fireplace that kept the room cozy in the cold December weather. We were provided two robes to use at our leisure and besides us the place seemed relatively empty. Linens and toilet paper were stocked upon arrival and in general the place was kept up to cleanly standards. There was parking I front of our room and the room gave a sense of seclusion we were looking for. We didn't seem to get up in time for breakfast so I couldn't comment on the quality of the food but there were baked goods in the kitchen designated for guests and the mini fridge was stocked with other treats. The upside of the place was also it's short driving distance to the town of lambertville. The stores and restaurants were nice but mostly on the pricier side in regards to the stores as opposed to food. I would have wished the room stayed stocked with the snacks in the kitchen because it had snowed the days of our stay and it was too cold to continuously try to get in the main house.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This place is a complete dump. For what they are charging you can stay just about anywhere, including Times Square. DO NOT get sucked in by the photos. It is criminal what they are getting away with here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank traveler101041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, EVP at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

We are sorry that you were unhappy. This is obviously the hatchet job that you threatened to post unless we gave you what you demanded. I invite anyone reading your purposefully misleading review to come stay with us and then render their opinion of staying at this historically magnificent estate and alpaca farm. We will give you a bottle of wine upon check-in if you mention the hatchet job. The picture you posted were of a temporary duct line they should've been removed. It has been removed and a broken tile that has been repaired. We are sorry they offended you and weren't corrected prior to your stay. We have been in the business for 22 years of creating an environment where people ( over 50,000 guests) can enjoy the estate and their time away. It is what we do and we take it serious. We are sorry you were unhappy but we don't yield to threats. We like happy guests and try our best to enable them to be happy. Some people are inherently bullies, mean, and unhappy, they try to take down your family business because they don't get their way. We pray for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

People seem to confuse this BB with a full service hotel where people are going to cater to your every need. I stayed here for two nights for a wedding. We had a room in the "attic". The room was a decent size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom area was very large. Water pressure was not great but this is a very old building that they can probably not upgrade. We had breakfast both days which was pretty good. The property was nice. Check in and check out was very easy. The biggest negative is that it is overpriced $250 a night is a little steep for a September stay. We did not really need anything extra.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 114Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were attending a wedding in Lambertville over Labor Day weekend for one of his close friends. We arrived in town early, had lunch near the water and drove to the B&B with 2+ hours to check in and change prior to the ceremony. Upon arrival (and after a lengthy conversation) we were informed that 1. We did not have a reservation (despite having a printed confirmation) 2. We could have a different room (the room we originally reserved was occupied) but it wasnt clean/ready 3. There was no water pressure at the inn, so if we did check in we would not be able to shower. We were obviously frustrated and unhappy. The only response we received from the man at the desk was: Im only the owner, not the operator.

Needless to say we missed the ceremony. However, we found a room at the Golden Plough Inn, which was lovely!

I would urge others to avoid this facility at all cost.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I was recently told about your comment and I finally had a moment to respond. I understand you were upset. Bad things happen to good people. The estate is magnificent. It is also historic. On any given day any facility can experience a loss of water. It is not a routing occurrence however, it can and did happen. We are dreadfully sorry. It is always our intention to provide our guest with an opportunity to experience the magic of this historic magnificent estate. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. This is our family business and your comment to avoid is hurtful.
Kindly

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Worst experience ever! Rooms were never cleaned....refrig had half full bottles of water.....from someone else.....no air conditioning in loft area.....89 degrees in loft area!! Couldn't sleep......left at 9:30 pm to go home.....! No one at reception desk in main house to inform anyone!! This was an anniversary weekend for us!! Will not recommend to our worst enemies!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank 495rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews