We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
823
305
83
43
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
305
83
43
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bliss spa washington street hudson river manhattan skyline path train bliss products new york two blocks carlos bakery corner room the empire state building cake pops minute ride into nyc jersey city wow suite concierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at the W Hoboken - the hotel is really posh with great amenities, very clean rooms and friendly service. The location is amazing, a 5 minute walk to the PATH subway which takes you right into Manhattan and is very cheap to ride. Great family-friendly restaurants, parks and waterfront within walking distance. Only issues: the walls are really thin, you can hear everything in the hallways, woke me up a couple of times at night. We were also hoping for a later check-out (just for an hour), but were told that was impossible. Also, we seemed to receive a high number of calls (the phone rang about 4 or 5 times within the first hour of our stay) from the front desk making sure that everything was okay - it was a bit much, but we appreciated the efforts.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
Thank Jakey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

We’re glad we were able to welcome you back to W Hoboken! I’m sorry for the noise disturbances you experienced as well as the disturbance from our check-in calls, but glad you were still able to enjoy our hotel and service as well as the local area! We hope to welcome you back again soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We had a great five night stay at the W Hoboken. The view from our room was spectacular and the bed was glorious. Easy access to NYC - never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a PATH train. The lounge/bar area is lovely to sit in but the price of drinks is RIDICULOUS (AND they have the nerve to add gratuity as standard-we don't approve of that). Also, I agree with others in regards to staying over the weekend. There was a party going on all night near us and then it ended in a fight - banging doors, yelling, crying and then in the morning there were empty beer bottles left on our doorstep. It's not the hotel's fault of course, but it seems to be a problem with many reviewers. All in all, we loved it and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

We’re thrilled we were able to be your home away from home for your 5 night stay with us! I apologize for your experience over the weekend and I have brought this to the attention of our Security Department as we do have a No Party Policy at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to the area. –Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

First the good; good location to NYC and not as expensive, the bars (The Livingroom and Chandelier) have great staff and are fun Wed - Sat.
The bad; the walls are paper thin, I can hear the guy delivering the newspaper outside my door at 5am and it sounds like he's in the room plus I can hear my neighbors conversations. The rooms were designed so that every room's headboard is on the same wall as your neighbors TV! This is so everyone can look at Manhattan from bed but also puts my neighbors TV at my head with thin walls! And since this hotel caters to the "hip" crowd you have younger set who have been out partying coming in at 2am and waking you up. I have stayed here 25 nights in the last 3 months (work gig) and it happens all the time! If you value sleep don't stay here if you don't have to.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

We’re happy to have you as our guest while in the area for work. I’m sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced, we know this is not what you expect when you come to stay with us for rest and relaxation, especially after a busy day at work. This is an issue we are aware of and are working on a sound proofing solution. Please don’t hesitate to contact us at the hotel directly if there is anything we can assist you with in the future. –Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My stay at W Hoboken was 99% perfect (the only problem was a bathtub stopper that didn't close and I worked around that). The staff was friendly and attentive and the service was impeccable. The common areas of the hotel were both visually appealing and comfortable, though the lobby is a bit dark -- a bit more light during the day would ease the adjustment when you come in from full daylight. My room was nice but the view of Manhattan was the best feature: it was STUNNING. The bathroom was amazing, too...I wish my bathroom was that nice.

In terms of location, I found this hotel super convenient to NYC: it's a 5-10 minute walk to the PATH terminal, where the train will take you straight into the Village (about a 10-minute trip). The trains run frequently, and it was no problem getting into the city to meet friends, or getting to and from Penn Station. I also felt safe in the neighborhood around the hotel; walking back from the PATH alone was no big deal.

I'll definitely consider staying at the Hoboken W on my next trip to NYC. I haven't done a cost comparison, but I'm guessing you get more for your money just by crossing the river into New Jersey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vero600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! I’m sorry it was only 99% perfect… we have brought the issue you encountered with the bathroom stopper to the attention of our Engineering Department and this will be addressed. We hope to show you a 100% perfect W Hoboken experience next time! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our views and convenient location and can’t wait to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We booked a room for our anniversary and were surprised to be upgraded to a fantastic corner suite. The suite had an amazingly unobstructed and spectacular view over the Hudson River to the NY city skyline, across, up and down the river. It was luxurious,spacious and very comfortable with a balcony. We had drinks in the Chandelier Lounge before dinner where the view was also spectacular and the drinks and appetizers delicious. We ate at Zylo which was excellent and were even presented with a happy anniversary dessert. We had a delicious breakfast in the room which was part of the AAA rate. The staff could not have been nicer. It is right on the river walk. We didn't have time to try the Bliss Spa, but another time. We would go to this W again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor! We’re thrilled that you chose to spend your anniversary with us and glad you appreciated the surprise upgrade! I’m glad you had time to enjoy our Chandelier Room and Zylo restaurant as well, and hopefully next time you will get a chance to enjoy our Bliss spa! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews