We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mexican food!”
Review of La Fortaleza

La Fortaleza
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Garfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: You don't have to travel to Mexico to enjoy the traditional atmosphere and Mexican cuisine at La Fortaleza! Located in Garfield, we take real pride in our authentic Mexican Gastronomy. Our dishes are prepared according to exclusive family recipes and made throughout the day with the highest quality ingredients available. From our homemade salsa and tableside guacamole made with Michoacano Avocados, Onions and Cilantro, to our thick corn tortillas for our tacos, burritos and fajitas- everything is prepared fresh to ensure the ultimate flavor. These are but a few of the efforts we make every day to bring you the real flavors of Mexico! Family and friends can join us on Friday and Saturday nights for Karaoke, and Sunday nights for Mariachi, to enjoy an unforgettable moment with us. Visit our website for more information and full menus, then let us satisfy your craving for something different tonight with our daily specials at La Fortaleza!
Restaurant details
Description: You don't have to travel to Mexico to enjoy the traditional atmosphere and Mexican cuisine at La Fortaleza! Located in Garfield, we take real pride in our authentic Mexican Gastronomy. Our dishes are prepared according to exclusive family recipes and made throughout the day with the highest quality ingredients available. From our homemade salsa and tableside guacamole made with Michoacano Avocados, Onions and Cilantro, to our thick corn tortillas for our tacos, burritos and fajitas- everything is prepared fresh to ensure the ultimate flavor. These are but a few of the efforts we make every day to bring you the real flavors of Mexico! Family and friends can join us on Friday and Saturday nights for Karaoke, and Sunday nights for Mariachi, to enjoy an unforgettable moment with us. Visit our website for more information and full menus, then let us satisfy your craving for something different tonight with our daily specials at La Fortaleza!
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We have been twice to La Fortaleza, since it is not close by (otherwise we would go every weekend). You need to order the shrimp coquetel, that is AMAZING. The portion is good enough to share and the salsa, OMG, it is just wonderful.
We had parrilada for the kids and they could not finish it (two kids). It is a huge plate, enough for two adults. The plates are huge and you will get stuffed when you finish eating. Service could be better, but we love the food, so we will go back again.

Thank Sanja1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo O, Owner at La Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

We wish we were closer to you, Sanja -- we'd love to have you every weekend! Thanks so much for just stopping by at all and for taking the time to write about how much you enjoy our food and company. Anytime you're back in the area, it'd be our pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Arturo, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

My wife invited me to this restaurant for my birthday and we enjoyed not only the food that was delicious but I had so much fun singing with the mariachi, and the customer service was fenomenal.

Thank cazafco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo O, Owner at La Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

It was a pleasure having you, and I appreciate you and your wife for stopping by! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review about a fun time.

Sincerely,
Arturo, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Good food and they deliver which is great but it's kind of expensive for there food. If you eat there it can get very loud and then you find yourself yelling at the person next to you to talk. But the food is good.

Thank EACW111415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo O, Owner at La Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thanks so much for the phenomenal review and for ordering from us in the first place! Sorry about the occasional volume -- I hope you'll join us or order from us again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Arturo, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I love this place! Excellent Atmosphere, excellent food and love the mariachis. I highly recommend this restaurant and to try the guacamole and red snapper exquisite!!!

Thank Vivian Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo O, Owner at La Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

We love having you, Vivian! Thank you so much for such an excellent review and for being such a fan of what we do in the first place. Anytime you're in the neighborhood, don't hesitate to pay us another visit for something delicious!

Sincerely,
Arturo, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We have lived in Clifton for over 6 years and only now found this gem . Needless to say we have been there every week since . Decor is amazingly original , food is great , drinks are awesome, prices even better . It's a hit and miss w the staff , some are nice , others couldn't care less . Wouldn't stop me from going there anyways . They have live Mexican music .

Vacationzilla

Thank MCJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo O, Owner at La Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Better late than never! Thanks so much for stopping by and finally giving our food a shot, MCJac! Your review really means a lot to us, as it's always nice knowing when we make such a great first impression. I can't wait to have you back again.

Sincerely,
Arturo, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fortaleza also viewed

 

Been to La Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing