We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““First time here.””

The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NJ 12
Transit: The Link Bus (local Hunterdon County transit service), Transbridge Bus Lines (PA, NJ & NYC commuter service).
Reviewed 28 August 2017

First time visiting this quaint, little town. Enjoyed the local sights and window shopping.

Stopped at the Inn on a quiet Saturday afternoon for a light lunch. Beautiful historical building and bar - the wood work is amazing. It has a rustic atmosphere and nice charm about the place.

We were seated right away in the dining room. Of all tables for them to seat us at, it was directly in front of the blasting wall unit air conditioner. We asked to have our table moved, because it was cold. We were moved 2 tables away. We asked to be moved a 2nd time, and then went into the bar area. Much more comfortable, and I liked being able to look outside onto the street.Great for people-watching.

Our server wasn't friendly, and didn't smile. She acted robotic in taking our orders, and in serving us our food. Maybe she didn't feel well - she couldn't have been overworked, because we were one of 2 couples in the place.

Fresh, delicious salads, customized by the chef. Happy to know that he has an appreciation of making things gluten-free. I had a very delicious spaghetti squash marinara, full of garlic and herbs. My boyfriend had a seafood dish, which he enjoyed.

One drawback: one stall bathroom each for men and women - had to wait in line for a few minutes to use the facilities.

We learned that they are looking to bring in live music soon. Would love to return for dinner and entertainment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your 4-star review. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed the food and that we were responsive to your requests for seating changes. It is always our goal to make sure our guests have the very best experience possible, and wherever possible, we will ensure that the right table is chosen as per their request. Our front porch is an even better place to people watch and we do hope that you will return to Frenchtown, and to The National Hotel, adding this to your experiences. And as far as music, we have live music every Saturday night in our cellar tavern, The Rathskeller Pub, as well as every Sunday afternoon in our main Bar and Restaurant. We also offer Karaoke every Wednesday night, and Open Mic Night every Thursday night, as well as Trivia every other Tuesday--so there's a lot of music and other community programming that awaits you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Mike the bartender is the best. He talks up his drinks because he is like no other. He has a mind for drinks like no other. His banana drink for the fall is amazing, and his cannoli Martini is to die for. The food at this place is amazing and fresh. Do not pass on the grilled scallops and watermelons

1  Thank dave911nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Wow! Such a wonderful review. You absolutely captured the enthusiasm and work ethic of Mike. He is a true professional, who comes into work every day full of ideas to make every guest's experience beyond their expectations. All of his signature drinks are made with attention to detail and with extraordinary care. The same is true of our dedicated staff in our kitchen, where our Executive Chef ensures consistently delicious and masterfully prepared dishes are brought to the table. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

An historic bar/restaurant/hotel, it is a quaint, hometown, and historic place to dine. It has a brunch on Sat/Sun for $14 p/p and it is an enjoyable rustic venue. Great manhattans, service, and menu. Downtown location with great shopping location. Enjoy the moment and the oak floors and old style bar.

Thank Pablosodahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Wonderful to read your review, and that you enjoyed your experience at The National Hotel. Our staff is always outdoing themselves to provide the best possible service to accompany our savory dishes and unique cocktails. Thank you for carving out the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The atmosphere alone could save this place in my book, but it did not need saving as the food and service were both excellent when we visited a few weeks ago. Brunch selection was varied with fair prices ($14.95 and that included a drink). Unique, eclectic menu served in historic surroundings. Mike the bartender was very friendly and attentive. Beautiful on the inside. Must have been quite a gem back in the day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crazyhorse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are incredibly pleased to learn that you enjoyed our new Brunch menu and service. Mike is indeed a talented bartender, who is incredibly knowledgeable and always helpful to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in Frenchtown and at The National Hotel in the near future. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

In short, stay away. After spending $70.00, the only thing we enjoyed were the two bottles of beer that we drank to wash away a nasty experience.

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

We are at a loss. We have tried to locate you to see if we could get more details about your experience, but have been unable to do so. If you have the time, we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you (908.996.3200) to learn where we missed the mark. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing