We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & cozy. ”

Matt's Red Rooster Grill
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Flemington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Matt’s Red Rooster Grill is a contemporary American bistro paying homage to a wood fired grill that “brings out the best flavors” of traditional American cuisine, reinvented creatively. A CIA (Hyde Park) graduate, Chef Matt McPherson stays true to his local roots integrating the finest seasonal ingredients, sourced from local family farms & day boat fisherman into his unique dishes. The restored Victorian home provides a relaxed elegant atmosphere to catch up with friends, celebrate special occasions, enjoy a romantic dinner, or impress an important client. As Matt’s creations pamper your taste buds, the staff indulges you with rock star service, the perfect remedy for a long day or week. With two floors, downstairs feeds off the warmth & energy of a bustling open kitchen. Four seats at the Chef's counter let you feel the heat, as you watch Matt & his team from a perch over the grill. Upstairs is away from the bustle while the porch provides relaxed & refreshing outdoor dining.
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic meal I just ate at this establishment!

Fabulous local Cabernet half bottle, lobster ravioli, a mouth watering dry aged steak cooked to perfection with great mashed potatoes and a nice veggie medley, and yummy gelato.
Beautiful lively atmosphere.
Phenomenal service.

GO HERE!

Thank teawinefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Owner at Matt's Red Rooster Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed your dinner. The lobster ravioli is a fan favorite and you can't go wrong with our dry aged steak which is one of our most popular entrees. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope to see you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

Had the Salmon which was excellent. Service was attentive, house wines were good. A bit noisy in the upstairs meeting room. Not really a good place for a meeting as the room did not seem to be well adaptable for meetings. Salmon was done and spiced well. Highly recommend trying it, the desert I had was the death by chocolate which was average and I would not choose it again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Owner at Matt's Red Rooster Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

We really appreciate you posting your review and glad you enjoyed the food. Depending on the night it can get noisy but the private dining room does help block that (though not completely). Hope to see you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

6pm dinner, bring your own wine, with business associates. Everything we had looked great. My chicken was outstanding. My business associates rice and pepper vegetarian meal looked good. Rice pudding great. $$$$. Outstanding service. Parking was free at least.

Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Owner at Matt's Red Rooster Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for stopping in and choosing us to host your business dinner. Hope to see you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Had the steak filet with the bacon-bleu cheese crust-excellent, and the farm duck, both cooked to perfection, for something different try the appy -stuffed pablano pepper-great and our server Taylor was wonderful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Owner at Matt's Red Rooster Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for the kind words! Great suggestion for the Stuffed Poblano Pepper as that's definitely a fan favorite. Hope to see you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We always enjoy eating at Matt's. Started with a cut of pork with in the sous vide method which made the meat so tender and gave it an intensified flavor. Served over a poblano fritter. Main dish was the duck and this was also cooked to perfection. Service was friendly and professional. Other popular mains were the tuna and the scallops. Yummy bread pudding for dessert. Love this BYOB.

Thank Sper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, Owner at Matt's Red Rooster Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We really appreciate the glowing review! We take pride in serving delicious food and offering great service to our patrons so it means a lot when you take the time to let us know. Looking forward to seeing you back in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matt's Red Rooster Grill also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Red Rooster Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing