We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winter holiday at the Summer Cottage Inn”
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #3 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A winter holiday at the Summer Cottage Inn”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This was our second stay during the Christmas season at the Summer Cottage Inn. Its location is walking distance from great restaurants, shopping, site seeing and the beach. The inn offers a cozy and romantic setting for a relaxing get-a-way from the hectic pace of the holiday season. It is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated in the Victorian period. The staff was helpful and the breakfast offered was good. My only complaint was a bed that sloped in the middle, but doable.

There's plenty to do in Cape May in the winter, if you want more to do then just sitting by a warm fire and having cocktails at night or tea during the day. There are many Christmas tours to pick from, nice hiking trails by the light house, sunsets at Diamond Beach, great dining (we love Freda's and Mugs) and weather permitting long walks on the beach. Also worth a short car trip is the free Cape May Zoo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mats336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    24
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
221
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We chose the Summer Cottage Inn last winter after touring a number of B&B's. We were married November 5th in front of the fireplace at the B&B and it was a great experience. We rented out the B&B for both families and it made for a nice and relaxed wedding for a few close family and freinds. We had the food catered locally and had dinner at the Merion Inn. We will both return for our anniversary and other weekends. Jean was a great host and took excellent care of us all. Mathew was great as well and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable. This was a great choice for a wedding and we both recommend it highly and appreciate the care of the staff in making the day great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our trip to Cape May was a getaway for relaxation on 10/14 - 10/16. The eight of us have been friends for many years and just wanted to have an adult get-together that would be inexpensive and relatively close to Long Island. The Summer Cottage Inn is a quaint Victorian built around 1867. Amazing to think about the history of this area. The Inn is managed by Jean, a person of endless energy and warm personality. She also cooks the included breakfasts and puts out the afternoon tea. The Inn's rooms are varied in size and decorating, but all are immaculately kept and very comfortable. The bedding is very firm. Jean will tell of some ghostly goings on at the Inn over the years, but we did not witness any ourselves! The homemade breakfasts were fine, the afternoon tea (and coffee) service was a nice break in our day, and Jean is a wonderful host. The price for our weekend was very reasonable, especially considering the location is 1 1/2 blocks from the beach, and close to many restaurants and other area interests. Summer prices may be higher, but other Inns are much more expensive. All in all, we had a terrific weekend, and recommend this Inn to others.

Room Tip: Room photos and descriptions on their website are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Such a lovely place - elegant, spacious rooms. Inviting & relaxing porch - very tasty breakfast!
Close to beach and shopping & dining.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We (2 couples) arrived in Cape May late afternoon on a Friday in late June. Hadn't intended staying here as I hadn't made reservations and we thought all the decent places would be booked out or would require a 2 night booking over the weekend.
Lucked onto this Summer Cottage Inn who had 2 vacancies at an extremely reasonable price and loved it!
Very romantic Victorian house. We were given one huge room and one reasonable size one, both clean with big comfy beds & ensuite bathrooms. The hostess was friendly and helpful. We loved the access to a fridge and wine glasses, crockery/cutlery etc - we bought a whole bunch of food at a local supermarket and had a lovely meal on the wide veranda over looking the small but very attractive, lush garden. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and you could have it in the lovely formal dining room or out on the veranda.
The B&B is extremely well located - a few blocks from the beach and the central shopping/restaurant area.
We were on the 3rd floor and it was a bit of a hike up the stairs with bags, but we needed the exercise so this wasn't an issue for us, but might be for others, so would pay to find out where rooms are located if you are making a booking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chockake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.6 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
1.1 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
194 reviews
0.7 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Property: The Harrison
Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing